How can I make xampp auto-start on reboot?

Problems with the Linux version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Postby Oswald » 24. April 2006 10:41

Dear Kenneth!

Thanks for sending the rc file. According this file you need to place the symbolic links into /etc/rc5.d. Like this:

ln -s /opt/lampp/lampp /etc/rc5.d/S99lampp
ln -s /opt/lampp/lampp /etc/rc5.d/K01lampp


Does this work if you reboot your system. I'm not sure because I didn't understand everyting in your rc file.

Greetings
Oswald
User avatar
Oswald
Apache Friends
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: 26. December 2002 19:51
Location: Berlin, Germany
Operating System: Linux

Re: How can I make xampp auto-start on reboot?

Postby Dave_L » 24. April 2006 12:32

3. Now carry out the actual configuration by typing:

ln -s /opt/lampp/lampp S99lampp
ln -s /opt/lampp/lampp K01lampp

Now XAMPP should start and stop automatically if you boot or shutdown your machine.


That generally works, but the note about shutdown is wrong. Those links will stop and then start XAMPP on boot, and not stop it on shutdown.

Here's how I do it (on a Debian-based distro):

ln -s /opt/lampp/lampp /etc/init.d/lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc0.d/K01lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc1.d/K01lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc2.d/S99lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc3.d/S99lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc4.d/S99lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc5.d/S99lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc6.d/K01lampp

That stops XAMPP on entry to runlevels 0 (halt), 1 (single-user) and 6 (reboot), and starts it on entry to runlevels 2-5 (multi-user). The reason I have the extra link /etc/init.d/lampp is just for consistency with the other (non-XAMPP) links in the runlevels.
User avatar
Dave_L
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 23. October 2004 00:43

Postby Oswald » 24. April 2006 12:46

Dear Dave!

Sorry, but you're completly wrong. You need the start (S) and stop (K) file in the same runlevel directory. S files were used if the systems gets into the specific runlevel and K files were used if your system's leaving the specific runlevel.

Greetings
Oswald
User avatar
Oswald
Apache Friends
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: 26. December 2002 19:51
Location: Berlin, Germany
Operating System: Linux

Postby Dave_L » 24. April 2006 13:14

Are you sure about that? I used to think the runlevels worked as you describe, but after learning more about linux, it appeared I was wrong. For example, http://www.debian-administration.org/articles/212 states:

Transitioning Between Run levels

When you leave a runlevel, nothing happens. All the action takes place when you enter the new run level.
User avatar
Dave_L
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 23. October 2004 00:43

Postby Oswald » 24. April 2006 13:41

Dear Dave!

I have to say sorry. You are absolutely right. In case of Debian your are right. Debian works this way: The target runlevel defines the stop scripts and not the source runlevel. Very strange, I never saw this implementation of Sys V init before.

I think I've to change our documentation for Debian. :roll:

Greetings
Oswald
User avatar
Oswald
Apache Friends
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: 26. December 2002 19:51
Location: Berlin, Germany
Operating System: Linux

Postby kengrome » 24. April 2006 14:01

While you're at it Oswald, you can change the docs for PCLinuxOS too, because I have good news for you:

YOUR SOLUTION WORKS!!! :)

I created the links in the folder you specified and now XAMPP starts at boot!

THANK YOU VERY MUCH for helping me to learn a little bit more about Linux, and especially for solving this problem for me.

Sincerely,
Ken Grome
kengrome
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 20. April 2006 05:43

Postby Dave_L » 25. April 2006 17:44

Oswald:

So that behavior varies across Linux distributions? I wasn't aware of that, but thanks for the info. :)
User avatar
Dave_L
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 23. October 2004 00:43

Postby Fabre » 25. April 2006 20:42

SuSE method described in the faq works for me (SuSE 10.0)

OpenSuSE 10.0 is a little bit stange: You need to set up a symbolic link from /etc/init.d/lampp to /opt/lampp/lampp:

ln -s /opt/lampp/lampp /etc/init.d/lampp

And than use the runlevel editor (expert mode) from YaST to activate XAMPP for the specific runlevels.


Couple of errors to fix and I would add the run runlevels to use.

OpenSuSE 10.0 is a little bit strange: You need to set up a symbolic link from /etc/init.d/lampp to /opt/lampp/lampp:

ln -s /opt/lampp/lampp /etc/init.d/lampp

And then use the runlevel editor (expert mode) from YaST to activate XAMPP for the specific runlevels (3 and 5).
Fabre
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 04. March 2006 09:41

Postby Dave_L » 19. December 2006 01:03

Oswald wrote:Dear Dave!

I have to say sorry. You are absolutely right. In case of Debian your are right. Debian works this way: The target runlevel defines the stop scripts and not the source runlevel. Very strange, I never saw this implementation of Sys V init before.

I think I've to change our documentation for Debian. :roll:

Greetings
Oswald


Since I'm using Fedora 5 at work now, in addition to the Debian-based MEPIS at home, I wanted to better understand this issue, so I asked about it at linuxquestions.org. The people there are saying that SysV Init works the same on all distros.
User avatar
Dave_L
 
Posts: 212
Joined: 23. October 2004 00:43

Postby ciacob » 22. May 2008 21:52

Hi Oswald

I'm perhaps the complete Linux newbie ever, so take patience with me :)

I still don't get the idea behind the

Code: Select all
 ln -s /opt/lampp/lampp K01lampp


Isn't rebooting actually a switch to runlevel 6? And, if that's so, wouldn't it be better to make the above symbolic link within the folder that controls the run-level 6?

By the way, I did the above (the answer cited to the begining of this thread), and lampp does start on boot for me (I'm on a RH9 box), however, I don't see the shutting down messages for apache & company, therefore I'm not sure lamp also shuts down when my system shutdown.

What dio you think?
ciacob
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 22. May 2008 21:32
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Postby ciacob » 22. May 2008 21:58

Sorry, I idn't read all of the conversation before posting.

However, now that I did, do you guys know how this actually works on Red Hat?
ciacob
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 22. May 2008 21:32
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Postby farazilu » 03. October 2008 12:13

can anybody help me to boot it in Linpus lite V1 on ACER
farazilu
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 03. October 2008 12:12

Re: How can I make xampp auto-start on reboot?

Postby shamun » 03. January 2010 22:08

How can i statup this automatic and run it as process.? to check with service mysqld status or ps -elf etc..?? :?:

A: my box:
Code: Select all
[root@shamun rc5.d]# uname -a
Linux shamun 2.6.31.9-174.fc12.i686 #1 SMP Mon Dec 21 06:24:20 UTC 2009 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
[root@shamun rc5.d]#


B: xampp is here with version
Code: Select all
[root@shamun lampp]# ls
backup  bin  cgi-bin  error  etc  htdocs  icons  lampp  lib  libexec  licenses  logs  modules  phpmyadmin  RELEASENOTES  sbin  share  tmp  var
[root@shamun lampp]# ./lampp status
Version: [b]XAMPP for Linux 1.7.3[/b]
Apache is running.
MySQL is running.
ProFTPD is running.
[root@shamun lampp]#


C: run level confirmation and entry
Code: Select all
[root@shamun rc5.d]# egrep :initdefault: /etc/inittab
id:5:initdefault:

[root@shamun rc5.d]# ls
[b]K01lampp[/b]      K36xrdp        K83named           K95firstboot      S08iptables     S22messagebus      S50bluetooth  S96xenstored
K10psacct     K50dnsmasq     K84wpa_supplicant  S00livesys        S11auditd       S24avahi-daemon    S55sshd       S97xenconsoled
K10saslauthd  K50netconsole  K87multipathd      S00microcode_ctl  S11portreserve  S25cups            S82abrtd      S98xend
K15httpd      K74nscd        K87restorecond     S02lvm2-monitor   S12rsyslog      S25netfs           S84ksm        [b]S99lampp[/b]
K24irda       K74ntpd        K89netplugd        S06cpuspeed       S13irqbalance   S26haldaemon       S85ksmtuned   S99livesys-late
K30postfix    K75ntpdate     K89rdisc           S07iscsid         S13iscsi        S26udev-post       S90smolt      S99local
K35vncserver  K76openvpn     K90network         S08ip6tables      S15mdmonitor    S27NetworkManager  S95atd        S99xendomains
[root@shamun rc5.d]#




D: all runn level list out/ XAMPP not listed ???
Code: Select all
[root@shamun lampp]# chkconfig --list
NetworkManager    0:off   1:off   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
abrtd             0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:off   5:on   6:off
atd               0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
auditd            0:off   1:off   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
avahi-daemon      0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
bluetooth         0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
cpuspeed          0:off   1:on   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
cups              0:off   1:off   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
dnsmasq           0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
firstboot         0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
haldaemon         0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
httpd             0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
ip6tables         0:off   1:off   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
iptables          0:off   1:off   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
irda              0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
irqbalance        0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
iscsi             0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
iscsid            0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
ksm               0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
ksmtuned          0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
livesys           0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
livesys-late      0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
lvm2-monitor      0:off   1:on   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
mdmonitor         0:off   1:off   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
messagebus        0:off   1:off   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
microcode_ctl     0:off   1:off   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
multipathd        0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
named             0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
netconsole        0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
netfs             0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
netplugd          0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
network           0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
nscd              0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
ntpd              0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
ntpdate           0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
openvpn           0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
portreserve       0:off   1:off   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
postfix           0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
psacct            0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
rdisc             0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
restorecond       0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
rsyslog           0:off   1:off   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
saslauthd         0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
smolt             0:off   1:off   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
sshd              0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:on   6:off
udev-post         0:off   1:on   2:on   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
vncserver         0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
wpa_supplicant    0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
xenconsoled       0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
xend              0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
xendomains        0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
xenstored         0:off   1:off   2:off   3:on   4:on   5:on   6:off
xrdp              0:off   1:off   2:off   3:off   4:off   5:off   6:off
[root@shamun lampp]#



E: shell or other system cant access the database
Code: Select all
[root@shamun lampp]# mysql
Command not found. Install package 'mysql' to provide command 'mysql'? [N/y] [root@shamun lampp]#
[root@shamun lampp]#
shamun
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 03. January 2010 11:27

Re: How can I make xampp auto-start on reboot?

Postby mamasboy » 21. July 2011 03:22

Dave_L wrote:
Here's how I do it (on a Debian-based distro):

ln -s /opt/lampp/lampp /etc/init.d/lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc0.d/K01lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc1.d/K01lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc2.d/S99lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc3.d/S99lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc4.d/S99lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc5.d/S99lampp
ln -s /etc/init.d/lampp /etc/rc6.d/K01lampp

That stops XAMPP on entry to runlevels 0 (halt), 1 (single-user) and 6 (reboot), and starts it on entry to runlevels 2-5 (multi-user). The reason I have the extra link /etc/init.d/lampp is just for consistency with the other (non-XAMPP) links in the runlevels.


Hi there...

Just wanna share my experience on CrunchBang Statler (based on Debian 6.0 Squeeze). This is what I did (make sure you run as root or use 'sudo' before the commands)

ln -s /opt/lampp/lampp /etc/init.d/lampp
insserv lammp (this command will create all those symlinks to the runlevels... however ...
- instead of S99lampp, insserv creates S01lampp (which works fine)
- on rc2.d it was K01lampp... so I rename it to S01lampp

Cheers!
mamasboy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 21. July 2011 03:12

Previous

Return to XAMPP for Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests