move XAMPP default website

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

move XAMPP default website

Postby Negative » 25. August 2005 10:59

By default the XAMPP website is in the htdocs/xampp folder I do want to keep using the xampp website but I want it moved to another folder e.g. htdocs/somefolder/xamp. Just copying the folder there and modifying the index.html to redierect to the new location doesn't seem to work. I do get the login screen but when i have to choose a language i get the page not found error.

Is there a way of moving the xampp website to another folder while still being able to keep it up and running?
Negative
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 08. June 2005 22:16

Postby Bugman » 25. August 2005 14:24

Hello,

What i did was to completely change the place of my document server to

C:\www

and then create a virtual host for each folder i have running in it, as well as creating domain names for them in the windows host file so that i could access:

C:\www\xampp as www.local.xampp.com

or
C:\www\latestsite as www.local.latestsite.com

Bugman
Bugman
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 13. July 2004 23:39

Postby Negative » 25. August 2005 15:17

Thx for your reply. If I would make a Virtualost as you suggest would i still be able to reach the webpage via the internet or only locally?

Furthermore I have been looking aroud a bit on my own and found some stuff about aliasses. If it would be possible to make an alias to a dir like C:/www that would be reachable via the internet as well as locally that would solve my problem too.

Don't know how exactly since i'm still an apache noob. So any toughts on that would be welcome to. Meanwhile I'll do my best to get a bit more educated about all this.

Nega out.
Negative
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 08. June 2005 22:16

Postby Bugman » 25. August 2005 15:42

Not sure about being able to access from the outside, i have never tried that

But the rest sounds ok

Will try to find a guide or write my own soon

Bugman
Bugman
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 13. July 2004 23:39

grrr.

Postby xChaoSx » 12. September 2005 10:13

I also want to do this style, i have another computer for a home lan website (later on website on the www) all i want is for stupid xmapp to stop me from using my website properly.. ie http://webserve/ should be http://webserve/xampp its annoying i just want it to be there but not be asked for it from the address bar.. please help
xChaoSx
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 12. September 2005 10:02

Postby Bugman » 14. September 2005 12:24

Hello

Well here is a quick guide.

1. Open up Hosts file in windows >system32>drivers>etc>hosts

I have edited in theses lines:
Code: Select all
127.0.1.1   www.lmambo.com
127.0.1.1   www.local.amambo.com
127.0.1.1   www.local.e107.com
127.0.1.1   www.local.xara.com
127.0.1.1   www.local.plone.com
127.0.1.1   www.local.phpwebsite.com
127.0.1.1   www.local.drupal.com
127.0.1.1   www.local.phpmyadmin.com
127.0.1.1   www.local.nucleus.com

2. Then open up httpd in xmaap>apache>conf and down the bottom (you will have to search for the correct area:

Code: Select all
#
# Use name-based virtual hosting.
#
NameVirtualHost *:80

<VirtualHost *:80>
  ServerName www.lmambo.com
  DocumentRoot "C:/www/mambo"
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
  ServerName www.local.storecore.com:80
  DocumentRoot "C:/www/storecore"
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
  ServerName www.local.e107.com:80
  DocumentRoot "C:/www/e107"
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
  ServerName www.local.xara.com:80
  DocumentRoot "C:/www/xara"
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
  ServerName www.local.amambo.com:80
  DocumentRoot "C:/www/amambo"
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
  ServerName www.local.phpwebsite.com:80
  DocumentRoot "C:/www/phpwebsite"
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
  ServerName www.local.drupal.com:80
  DocumentRoot "C:/www/drupal"
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
  ServerName www.local.phpmyadmin.com:80
  DocumentRoot "C:/www/phpmyadmin"
</VirtualHost>

<VirtualHost *:80>
  ServerName www.local.nucleus.com:80
  DocumentRoot "C:/www/nucleus"
</VirtualHost>


Why have i put .local. in? Well it helps when i am working on real websites and then i know i am not editing the live version as to speak
e.g.
live = www.mywebsite.com
local = www.local.mywebsite.com

Also, put these lines in your httpd
Code: Select all
#
# DocumentRoot: The directory out of which you will serve your
# documents. By default, all requests are taken from this directory, but
# symbolic links and aliases may be used to point to other locations.
#
DocumentRoot "C:/www"

and also:
Code: Select all
# This should be changed to whatever you set DocumentRoot to.
#
<Directory "C:/www">

This is where i put all my websites as you can see from the vitural hosts above. It could be anything, but make sure you make them all the same.

Bugman
Bugman
 
Posts: 53
Joined: 13. July 2004 23:39


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 62 guests