APache, PHP and MYSQL start up problems

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

APache, PHP and MYSQL start up problems

Postby jms » 28. July 2005 21:56

As you will see from this post I am an absolute beginner.
I installed Apache server, MYSQL and PHPMYADMIN from xampp on Windows 2000 - the apache server was running fine, and I created a SQL database in PHPMyadmin , hoping to simply display the results on a web page. To start, I copied the following PHP script from http://www.tizag.com/phpT/ into a new page in Front Page and saved it as .PHP

<html>
<head>
<title>My First PHP Page</title>
</head>
<body>
<?php
phpinfo();
echo "Hello World!";
?>
</body>
</html>


Opening the page gave me a blank screen. On reading your forum, I suspected that the PHP service might not be running (although Apache server and MYSQL were running, as long as I wasn't connected to the internet) Am I correct in thinking that the above script should have worked if PHP was running - and how do I get PHP to run?
Secondly, I found another site which showed how to run MYSQL as a service, and entered the code. Now when I try to start Apache it will not start. Can I stop running MYSQL as a service?

Many thanks in advance

ubrigens, kann ich deutsch verstehen - bin nicht so geschickt an schreiben! Xampp geigt!!!
John
jms
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 28. July 2005 19:30
Location: Cayman Islands

Postby Wiedmann » 28. July 2005 23:36

Opening the page gave me a blank screen.

How did you open the page?
--> You must use "http://...".

Secondly, I found another site which showed how to run MYSQL as a service, and entered the code. Now when I try to start Apache it will not start. Can I stop running MYSQL as a service?

We don't know what the other page told you to do... (We have our own batchfile to (de-)install MySQL as service in the XAMPP package.)

BTW:
Apache have nothing to do with MySQL. So there must be another problem.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17102
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Apache works!

Postby jms » 29. July 2005 20:55

Hi - I uninstalled and reinstalled XAMPP, and everything is working again. However, I can only get the PHP to work if I use
http://localhost/XAMPP/TESTWEB/filename.php
Does this mean from FrontPage I have to publish the site to http://localhost? I tried this, and it tells me localhost doesn't have FP extensions or Sharepoint. Would it work if I changed the PATH to include my XAMPP directory? Or is there a way to enable Apache so I can publish my FP site to it? Eventually I want to set up the web on a Windows 2003 Intranet Server
Thanks for your help
jms
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 28. July 2005 19:30
Location: Cayman Islands

Postby Wiedmann » 29. July 2005 21:27

You must configure your FronPage web to have a webserver without the FrontPage extension and publish the web with ftp (FileZilla FTP Server).

BTW:
In normal situations, FP only uses relativ links (after saving a file). So there is no need to publish the web and you can work with FP directly with the files in htdocs.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17102
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby jms » 02. August 2005 14:21

Thanks!
jms
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 28. July 2005 19:30
Location: Cayman Islands


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 156 guests