Running a game

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Running a game

Postby Stuffedbear » 05. January 2018 00:08

I installed this program so that I could run an old lego game through it but I'm not a developer. I don't quite understand what I'm doing wrong but I also don't understand what I'm doing. I managed to get APACHE running but now I need to install the game.

These are the instructions that were with the game:

[[[-- HOW TO INSTALL INTO XAMPP --

1. XAMPP must be installed.

2. Windows users can run Installer.vbs to guide you through the installation process. Alternately, manually copy the "junkbot" folder (in the folder with this file) to the subfolder (which must be created) "build" of the top level server folder (xampp/htdocs/), resulting in "xampp/htdocs/build/". ]]]

I obviously tried the Installer.vbs file but it won't allow me permission to install it. It says there is a VBScript run time error.
Whenever I did try to manually create the build file in xampp and copy the game file to it, there is an error with the ports for APACHE.

I just want to play the game. :(
Stuffedbear
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 04. January 2018 23:58
XAMPP version: 3.2.2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Running a game

Postby Altrea » 05. January 2018 00:15

Hi,

You should ask the developer or at a support channel of this specific game. We cannot provide any support for issues related to third party games and operating systems.

best wishes,
Altrea
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 9170
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Running a game

Postby Stuffedbear » 05. January 2018 00:33

This game is currently offline. It's an old, old, old, old lego game from 2006. I'm pretty sure they wouldn't have any idea what to tell me. I figured someone here would be able to help me with the port problem.
Stuffedbear
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 04. January 2018 23:58
XAMPP version: 3.2.2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Running a game

Postby JJ_Tagy » 05. January 2018 00:40

there is an error with the ports for APACHE

That seems to be your problem, not that it is a legacy game.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 742
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests