Installing APC Cache - Is this a bug?

Problems with the Mac OS X version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Installing APC Cache - Is this a bug?

Postby saeho » 29. March 2012 07:00

I've spent all day trying to figure this out. I'm trying to install PHP APC cache on our local development server.

After using this command:
sudo /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/bin/pecl install apc

It finished installing successfully.
When I try to run the command again, it says it has already been installed.

I made sure php.ini file has the following too...

extension="apc.so"

apc.enabled=1
apc.shm_size=128M
apc.ttl=7200
apc.user_ttl=7200
apc.enable_cli=1

However... No matter how many times I restart Apache, APC will not show up in PHPINFO()... Also of course, APC won't run either when I try to actually use it.

Any help??? What's wrong with the installation? I even tried re-installing Xampp.
saeho
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29. March 2012 06:56
XAMPP Version: 1.8.3-2
Operating System: OS X

Re: Installing APC Cache - Is this a bug?

Postby saeho » 29. March 2012 07:01

Using 1.7.3 Xampp for Max OS X, in case anyone wants to know.
saeho
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29. March 2012 06:56
XAMPP Version: 1.8.3-2
Operating System: OS X

Re: Installing APC Cache - Is this a bug?

Postby zxcqwe » 01. April 2012 12:17

saeho wrote:Any help??? What's wrong with the installation? I even tried re-installing Xampp.


With ref. to http://www.leonardaustin.com/technical/install-apc-on-xampp

i know that the above link is for windows and i think you are missing some config, and you can do the same config on your mac too... give it a try and reply.

1. Go to the directory of installation\apache\conf
2. Open and edit httpd.conf in a text editor
3. Find all occurrences of

AllowOverride None

and change to

AllowOverride All

4. I think it appears 2 or 3 times on the configuration file.
5. Reset Apache

Should work for you as well.
zxcqwe
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 01. April 2012 12:07
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Fedora16, Ubuntu11.10, Win7U

Re: Installing APC Cache - Is this a bug?

Postby ca050306 » 27. July 2012 14:29

Hi

I faced the same issue, the installation with sudo pecl install apc runned well, the aps.so and apc.la files are present in the directory . The extension is enabled in the php.ini. But does not appear in the phpinfo(). I tries what is suggested by zxcqwe .But it does not work. I run XAMPP 1.7.3 on Mac OSX 10.7.4
I would appreciate some help on this.
ca050306
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 27. July 2012 14:19
XAMPP Version: 1.8.3-1
Operating System: MAC OS C 10.7.4


Return to XAMPP for Mac OS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davidbankys and 2 guests