Two XAMPP instance on Windows!!!

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Two XAMPP instance on Windows!!!

Postby prabhu » 23. August 2011 05:38

Hi,

I have been installed two XAMPP instances in the same computer.I want to access both XAMPP.Both the instances sharing the same control panel.Modified the Apache port value for the other instance.But, still i could not able to access both at the same time.
How to use both XAMPPs?

Thanks
prabhu
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 23. August 2011 05:23

Re: Two XAMPP instance on Windows!!!

Postby Altrea » 23. August 2011 08:15

prabhu wrote:Both the instances sharing the same control panel.

Thats not possible. They both need their own control panel. You can start them with their batch routines too.

To have multiple XAMPP instances running the same time, there are some hints to follow:
- use the zip-versions, not the installer versions
- create for each XAMPP a new folder. for example: c:\xampp171\ = XAMPP 1.7.1, c:\xampp173\ = XAMPP 1.7.3, etc.
- none of the XAMPP components have to be registered as windows services
- every compoinent must have their own unique ports (remember, that every Apache needs to have two ports, one for HTTP which is default port 80, and one for HTTPS/SSL default 443).

That way i have on one of my developing machines several XAMPP versions from 1.4.13 up to 1.7.4 running (with the exeptions that i don't have different ports because i don't run them at the same time)
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11935
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Two XAMPP instance on Windows!!!

Postby Sharley » 23. August 2011 09:44

prabhu wrote:I have been installed two XAMPP instances in the same computer.
Altrea, like most of us who volunteer help here, would have many versions of XAMPP on the same computer in various locations for testing various problems people present on these forums.

But, as Altrea has pointed out, it is usually not possible or advisable to run more than one instance of the Control Panel or more than one instance of XAMPP at once.

May I ask why you would want to do this?

My guess is that you may want more than one web site to run and work with.

Well, if that is true then you only need to have one XAMPP but many virtual hosts set up in the \xampp\apache\conf\extra\httpd-vhosts.conf file.

I, like Altrea and many others, would have many web sites on the one instance of XAMPP - I would have between 10 and 20 at any given time so I can test various sites and various script programs.

Let us know back please why you would need to run more than one instance of XAMPP at the same time as it may help us find the best solution for you?

Thanks and best wishes.
Last edited by Sharley on 23. August 2011 09:50, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: Two XAMPP instance on Windows!!!

Postby prabhu » 23. August 2011 09:46

Thanks for the reply.I have the following port assigned to the services.
XAMPP1;
Apache 80
MySQL 3306
XAMPP2;
Apache 8080
MySQL 2215(mysql/bin/my.ini)..
Now i was able to access Apache in both the instances,but only one MySQL server.Please tell me how to change the default port for MySQL in XAMPP?
prabhu
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 23. August 2011 05:23

Re: Two XAMPP instance on Windows!!!

Postby Altrea » 23. August 2011 09:48

Please take a look into your my.ini MySQL configuration file and search this file for 3306
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11935
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Two XAMPP instance on Windows!!!

Postby prabhu » 23. August 2011 09:58

i have modified the port no for XAMPP2 MySQL as 2215, because the 3306 port has already assigned to XAMPP1 MySQL, so to avoid the conflict i have given the new port in my.ini, but i could not access the websites under XAMPP2.
prabhu
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 23. August 2011 05:23

Re: Two XAMPP instance on Windows!!!

Postby Altrea » 23. August 2011 10:02

Yeah, accessing webapplications and databases which don't run on the default ports can be tricky.
Remember that now you have to add the port number on url and database connection functions and so on.
And some webapplications are not programmed for such a situation.
Thats why i wouldn't recommend to run multiple XAMPP with different ports.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11935
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Two XAMPP instance on Windows!!!

Postby prabhu » 23. August 2011 10:11

I would like use the XAMPP2 as test environment.Can you please tell how to change the default port for MySQL?
prabhu
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 23. August 2011 05:23

Re: Two XAMPP instance on Windows!!!

Postby Altrea » 23. August 2011 10:25

You can't change default ports. The default port for MySQL is 3306.
How to change that port, i have already told you and i have told you what the consequences are if you change it.

What do you want to test?
Maybe not a second XAMPP is needed but different vhosts.
Or maybe it is not needed to run multiple instances the same time.
Or you have to learn how to handle connections with ports.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11935
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Two XAMPP instance on Windows!!!

Postby abuzz4me » 09. October 2014 13:54

I hate to drum up such an old thread, but I am curious if I could install multiple copies and bind them to different IP Addresses on the same host? This would seem to eliminate the issues with port numbers having to change from their defaults.
10.10.10.10 c:\xampp_verX\
10.10.10.11 c:\xampp_verY\
10.10.10.12 c:\xampp_verZ\
If this is possible, are there any tips / tricks? I saw in the thread to use the ZIPs. Anything else? Any configs or INIs I would need to modify.
Thanks,
abuzz4me
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 09. October 2014 13:44
Operating System: Window 2008

Re: Two XAMPP instance on Windows!!!

Postby Altrea » 11. October 2014 11:21

You need to bind every needed single application to a specific IP.

For Apache you change to find all "Listen" Directives, which can found in httpd.conf and httpd-ssl.conf
For MySQL you need to activate and change the "bind-address" setting
For FileZilla you can bind the default FTP port to a specific IP, but you CANNOT unbind the admin port from IP 127.0.0.1, so for the admin connection you need to specify different ports if you run multiple FileZilla instances.

For the other single components i don't have any information
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11935
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 74 guests