inline php not working (SOLVED)

Alles, was PHP betrifft, kann hier besprochen werden.

inline php not working (SOLVED)

Postby edpatterson » 10. June 2011 14:26

Sorry, I really did use Google. Found lots of instances of the issue, no definitive answers.
XAMPP 1.7.2 Windows

I created this test file inlinephp.html
Code: Select all
<html><head><title>Inline PHP testing</title></head>
<body>
<?php echo "<h1>This header was done in php</h1>\n"; ?>
This line was done in html
</body>
</html>

It displayed
Code: Select all
This header was done in php\n"; ?> This line was done in html

PHP is working fine, all files with a .php extension work perfectly, I would like to be able to use some simple php code in .html files.

Is this possible.

Thanks,
Ed
edpatterson
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 08. October 2010 15:04

Re: inline php not working

Postby edpatterson » 10. June 2011 15:47

new code
Code: Select all
<html><head><title>Inline PHP testing</title></head>
<body>
<?php
echo "<h1>This header was done in php</h1><br>";
?>
This line was done in html
</body>
</html>

Produces
Code: Select all
This header was done in php
"; ?> This line was done in html
edpatterson
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 08. October 2010 15:04

Re: inline php not working

Postby Altrea » 10. June 2011 19:52

just save the file with a .php extension and request it with the http protocol in your browser.
Apache is by default not configurated to parse php code in .html files
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6691
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: W7Ux64

Re: inline php not working

Postby edpatterson » 10. June 2011 23:16

Thanks, I was hoping to find out how to configure php/apache so that inline code would work with the .html extension.

Ed
edpatterson
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 08. October 2010 15:04

Re: inline php not working

Postby Altrea » 11. June 2011 09:37

Thats possible, but why should anybody do this?
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6691
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: W7Ux64

Re: inline php not working

Postby edpatterson » 11. June 2011 22:09

I am trying to trouble shoot dynamically creating html forms via PHP and MySQL.
edpatterson
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 08. October 2010 15:04

Re: inline php not working

Postby Altrea » 11. June 2011 23:09

I don't see why therefor it is needed to parse .html files with the php parser.
But it's your server, so it's up to you.

- open your file \xampp\apache\conf\extra\http-xampp.conf
- line 22 (or somewhere around that) should be
Code: Select all
<FilesMatch "\.php$">


- change it to
Code: Select all
<FilesMatch "\.(php|html)$">


- restart your Apache.
Now all .html files take their way through the php parser.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6691
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: W7Ux64

Re: inline php not working

Postby Altrea » 02. October 2011 16:30

The solution is posted in this post.
If that doesn't work for you, please open an own topic with a qualified error description.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6691
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: W7Ux64


Return to PHP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Nobbie and 3 guests