Status Check Failure

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby Jowi2525 » 22. April 2011 21:42

I just downloaded XAMPP 1.7.4 today (April 22, 2011 and got the same error on Win 7.
Jowi2525
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 22. April 2011 21:37

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby albourg » 23. April 2011 20:30

I have the same problem using win xp 32 bits and skype not running.
Where is it possible to download previous version of xampp (that was working fine)?
albourg
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 23. April 2011 20:27

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby simpo » 28. April 2011 08:39

I followed the instructions given by starcomsis and it now works:

  • Add the path to the XAMPP installation to your path variables
  • Blank the 'start-in' field

My setup: Windows 7 64bit

Thanks
simpo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 28. April 2011 08:33
Location: Middlesbrough, UK

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby ecalderoniv » 28. April 2011 19:01

Hi !! I had the same problem (Status Check Failure [3]). The reason in my case was one Bitnami Stack Service active.

This option is checked when installing any bitnami stack as Wordpress. So I stopped the bitnami stack service (direct link from "Start > Programs > Bitnami > Bitnami Service") and now XAMPP is running fine. I still retrieve the error though, but I can run apache with no problems.

Hope this helps !!
ecalderoniv
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 28. April 2011 18:55

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby merchantguru » 29. April 2011 06:58

Just wanted to share that Kawa's solution above worked for me. At least got the services running.

I'm on Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
merchantguru
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 29. April 2011 06:55

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby mmaberry » 03. May 2011 08:07

On my windows 7 home premium system I was not unning any of the services mentioned on this forum and was getting the status check faliure[3] error. My solution to this issue was to re-install xampp using the zip version. Unzip to drive:\xampp then run the setup_xampp.bat then open the xampp control panel and install the services.

Don't forget to back up your htdocs and mysql databases if you decide to reinstall! Hope this helps. :D
mmaberry
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 03. May 2011 07:47

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby Sharley » 05. May 2011 07:35

mmaberry wrote:My solution to this issue was to re-install xampp using the zip version.
Your solution was already posted in this topic, which you may or may not have read first before posting, can be found also from the link here:
viewtopic.php?p=173568#p173568

And here:
viewtopic.php?p=175467#p175467

With the OP of this topic giving confirmation here:
viewtopic.php?p=176950#p176950
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: Status Check Failure [3] - SOLVED

Postby dmsclz » 05. May 2011 22:59

Hi,

I had the same Problem. The nice thing about xampp is, that the source is directly included!

Line 968 @ XAMPP.C
Code: Select all
if (stricmp(cur_dir, install_dir))
//   lbprintf(hList, "*** WARNING: Directory mismatch ***");

error = UpdateStatus(hDlg);

if (error) {
... show the known error...
}


Nah, any idea what is going wrong? Okay, the newer version of (FREE!) Microsoft Visual C++ Express 2010 give a direct hint: Variable error is never initialized.

IF current-dir not equal install_dir (so at all good installations!) there should be shown an error! Anyone seems to have commented out the hint on that error. The result is, that the next instruction "error = UpdateStatus(hDlg);" - never was executed on "good installations".
On all "good installations" there is only random trash in the variable error. I just re-uncommented the clear error-text; now error is set correct to 0 in normal cases.

Code: Select all
if (stricmp(cur_dir, install_dir))
  lbprintf(hList, "*** WARNING: Directory mismatch ***");

error = UpdateStatus(hDlg);

if (error) {
... show the known error...
}


For everyone, who do not want to download/install the compiler for that change, I uploaded the new exe to a server:

EDIT: LINK DELETED! There is a newer version, discussion & URL @ http://community.apachefriends.org/f/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=46743&p=179939#p179939

Before I forget... I had to uncomment 2 functions in XAMPP.C / XAMPP.H: sprintf & printf...


Best regards & enjoy downloading untrusted EXE-files :-)
Steffen Strüber


PS: Another quick&dirty method to force install-dir to be unequal current-dir:

Delete/rename/modify "Install_Dir" in registry, Path:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\xampp [for 64bit systems]
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\xampp [for 32bit systems]
dmsclz
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 05. May 2011 22:41

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby hinglemar » 13. May 2011 18:59

I had the same issue. For a normal installation to c:\xampp the "root directory" is c:\. If you start from there then everything is ok. From the command line goto c:\ and type xampp\xampp-control. Or from the start button, open the properties for XAMPP Control Panel and change the Start in parameter to c:\. I'm using Windows 7 64-bit.
hinglemar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 13. May 2011 17:40

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby Grahamwise » 17. May 2011 00:45

WilliL wrote:xammp 1.7.4 was announced as stable version on 26th Jan 16:37. so it's important to have a look to date and time of these postings.
http://community.apachefriends.org/f/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=44255




I know that I should not even be hitting this 4 month old post...but really

Man, This thread in its entirety was started on the 29TH OF JANUARY, that means that there is not possibly any post in here prior to the 26th. (Dont lecture on things you obviously do not do yourself)

These errors are occurring in the "Stable Build"

And yes, with every fix named, I still get the same errors: Here is my full spec print out

OS: MS Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6: Agena 65nm Technology
RAM: 8.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 802MHz (6-6-6-16)
MB: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A785TD-V EVO (AM3)
GPU: SAPPHIRE Toxic 100280-4GTXSR Radeon HD 5970 4GB 512 (256 x 2)-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card w/ Eyefinity
HDD733GB Seagate ST3750528AS ATA Device (SATA)
977GB Western Digital WDC WD10EADS-00L5B1 ATA Device (SATA)
ODRVTSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-H652M ATA Device
TSSTcorp CDW/DVD SH-M522C ATA Device
MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM0000


Any help? Possibly any patches or support I may have overlooked?
Grahamwise
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 17. May 2011 00:32

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby Sharley » 17. May 2011 00:59

You did not say what exactly you have tried to fix your issue that failed from the many posts in this thread - there are fixes for some and perhaps not for others.

Try the new XAMPP Control Panel but you will have to drill down the posts to get to the latest version build from this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=46743
Also it was mentioned in a post above in this topic by dmsclz, the XCPv3 author or did you overlook it?:
viewtopic.php?p=178987#p178987
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby jsquared » 19. May 2011 14:07

I found a fix for this error in the German forum. The fix required removal of an entry in the Registry.
Apologies: I do not know how to insert links to posts.
Hint: I had to enable translation in the browser to handle the German.
Regards. JJ
jsquared
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 18. May 2011 20:16

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby jbibbs » 23. May 2011 13:57

Starcomsis solution worked for me as well:

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=44320&start=15#p174507


I had the annoying error message only. No issues with Apache or MySQL starting up.
jbibbs
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 23. May 2011 13:52

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby Matpatnik » 25. May 2011 04:59

I had the same problem: Status Check Failure [3]...

What I did is I created a new partition install the xampp-win32-1.7.4-VC6-installer.exe into the new partition then I went into the properties of the shortcut and set the compatibility to Windows XP (Service Pack 3). The error is still there in the control panel but at least everything works.

I'm using Windows 7 sp1
Matpatnik
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 25. May 2011 04:47

Re: Status Check Failure [3]

Postby 1manfactory » 27. May 2011 11:50

This a malfunction hard coded check of an installation path.

To suppress the error message do the following.

Open the registry editor

Go to

Code: Select all
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\xampp\Install_Dir


Change the value to "C:\xampp"

Done. No more error message. And as far as I can see i has no effect to the xampp environment itself.
1manfactory.com - Blog
null-papier.de - Verlag
1manfactory
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 27. May 2011 11:36

PreviousNext

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 73 guests