Installing question

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Installing question

Postby Gloria » 28. March 2011 19:49

I'm installing XAMPP 1.7.4 and immediately I've got stuck on a question. What does it mean "installing Apache as service"? Do I want to mark any of the "serviced" boxes? I'm planning to use Apache on my local PC to develop and test websites before going live somewhere else.
Grateful for a little help seeing I'm very green at this. OK with html but have never done anything like this before.

Kind regards,
Gloria
Gloria
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 28. March 2011 19:42

Re: Installing question

Postby Altrea » 28. March 2011 22:32

Hi Gloria,
Run them as Windows Services means, that they start right after Windows has started, with System Rights (independend of the users you have installed on your Windows System).
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11926
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Installing question

Postby Gloria » 29. March 2011 07:10

Thank you Altrea,

I'll continue with the installation without checking any of the "service boxes" then.

Gloria
Gloria
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 28. March 2011 19:42

Re: Installing question

Postby Gloria » 29. March 2011 07:34

Hi,

I'm back again. XAMPP installed correctly. Now to try start and stop from the .bat files. Problems straight away. Got the following reply when trying to start:

"(OS10048) Only one usage of each socket address (protocol/network address/port) is normally permitted. :make_sock: could not bind to address 0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs
Apache could not be started"

MySQL started and stopped OK. I have no idea what to do now. Can anybody help, please?

Gloria
Gloria
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 28. March 2011 19:42

Re: Installing question

Postby DC80 » 29. March 2011 12:55

Probably port 80 is already in use. This can happen if you have IIS (webserver of Microsoft) installed for example.

You can see this in the command prompt.

Go start -> run -> type cmd in the dialog box

If the command prompt is started type

netstat -o

It should look something like this:

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\user>netstat -o

Active Connections

Proto Local Address Foreign Address State PID
TCP 127.0.0.1:50187 Computer:50188 ESTABLISHED 1596
TCP 127.0.0.1:50188 Computer:50187 ESTABLISHED 1596
TCP 127.0.0.1:50189 Computer:50190 ESTABLISHED 1596
TCP 127.0.0.1:50190 Computer:50189 ESTABLISHED 1596
TCP 127.0.0.1:50512 Computer:50513 ESTABLISHED 3176
TCP 127.0.0.1:50513 Computer:50512 ESTABLISHED 3176
TCP 127.0.0.1:50514 Computer:50515 ESTABLISHED 3176
TCP 127.0.0.1:50515 Computer:50514 ESTABLISHED 3176
C:\Users\user>

You need to look for port 80 (and if needed port 443). If you find it look for the PID. Once you have it you can track it down by starting the task manager. When you identify the process responsible for the blockage you can kill it or shut it down.
DC80
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 11. March 2011 13:35
Operating System: Linux Mint 12 (lisa)

Re: Installing question

Postby Altrea » 29. March 2011 14:20

DC80 wrote:netstat -o


-o flag is not enough. You need at least -a flag to show all listening ports (only listening on port 80 is relevant).
and to resolve all ports to numeric you should use the -n flag

so i recommend
Code: Select all
netstat -aon


You can filter for :80 too, like so:
Code: Select all
netstat -aon | find ":80"
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11926
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Installing question

Postby Gloria » 29. March 2011 15:01

Thanks for suggestions.
Result for netstat -o didn't show enough.

Result for netstat -aon | find ":80" gave the following:
....
TCP 192.168.1.101:1371 209.85.146.101:80 ESTABLISHED 4624
TCP 192.168.1.101:1382 209.85.146.100:80 ESTABLISHED 4624
TCP 192.168.1.101:1383 74.125.39.100:80 ESTABLISHED 4624
.....

Does this mean that something is already locking up port 80, and what do I do now?
With my limited knowledge, perhaps I shouldn't be doing this...... :?
Gloria
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 28. March 2011 19:42

Re: Installing question

Postby Altrea » 29. March 2011 15:13

No, these connections are all okay.

Important are only lines, where the status is LISTENING and the local address (left one) has a :80 like this one (just an example):
TCP 0.0.0.0:80 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 284


Do you use Skype sometimes?
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11926
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Installing question

Postby Gloria » 29. March 2011 15:32

OK. It says
0.0.0.0:80 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 2536
which means I suppose that something called "2536" is using it. How do I find out what?
Gloria
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 28. March 2011 19:42

Re: Installing question

Postby Altrea » 29. March 2011 16:06

- Open your Windows Task manager (shortcut: ctrl + shift + esc)
- switch to processes tab
- show PID column there
- search for PID 2536
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11926
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Installing question

Postby Gloria » 29. March 2011 16:22

You're right on the button.... Skype uses port 80, and I use Skype a lot.

I hope this doesn't mean that I have to uninstall Skype to be able to run Apache?
Gloria
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 28. March 2011 19:42

Re: Installing question

Postby Altrea » 29. March 2011 16:26

No, you can configure Skype to not use Port 80 and not use Port 443 (both are required for Apache in the default settings).
I don't know exactly where to find this option in the skype settings, but there must be a checkbox for this.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11926
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Installing question

Postby Gloria » 29. March 2011 16:36

Thank you very much, Altrea, for all your help. I have learned something new today.
I will probably come back to this forum when I've resolved the Skype issue for I'm sure to have more questions when I start to run Apache.
BB for now and thanks again.
Gloria
Gloria
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 28. March 2011 19:42

Re: Installing question

Postby Altrea » 29. March 2011 16:48

You're welcome :D
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11926
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Installing question

Postby Sharley » 30. March 2011 07:45

For future reference and if the command line netstat is not helpful then you can download and run this nice little app CurrPorts - cports.exe, that requires no installation, to see what is using your ports and is the core app of XAMPP's own xampp-portcheck.exe that has been omitted in 1.7.4 due to a recently departed developer having some copyright code included in the exe file:
Info and download link near the bottom of the page.
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/cports.html
User avatar
Sharley
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3316
Joined: 03. October 2008 05:10
Location: Yeppoon, Australia Time Zone: GMT/UTC+10
Operating System: Win 7 Pro 32bit/XP Pro SP3


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 98 guests