Apache not binding.

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Apache not binding.

Postby NetoBochas » 20. February 2009 03:22

I know that there are a lot of topics treating this problem, but at least in the ones I've seen, the problem doesn't happens as mine does.

My XAMPP installation works fine locally, no problems. But when trying to make it available for other PCs around the internet, using a No-IP subdomain, I get the dreaded error... "make_sock: could not bind to address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80 no listening sockets available, shutting down.".

Several topics of this issue say that it may be a problem in the firewall, blocking the port 80, however, even after opening it manually, Apache wouldn't bind. My router features a mode called DMZPlus, which as some of you may know, opens all the ports for the node in question; after experimenting a little further, I found that setting this mode on for the PC I have XAMPP installed in, Apache binds properly.

I would like to know if there's another way to make Apache bind, or if the only way is using the risky DMZPlus mode.


Thanks in advance.

P.S. My router is a 2WIRE, model 2701HG-T, if you happen to need it.
NetoBochas
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20. February 2009 03:10

Re: Apache not binding.

Postby Wiedmann » 20. February 2009 09:23

My XAMPP installation works fine locally, no problems. But when trying to make it available for other PCs around the internet, using a No-IP subdomain, I get the dreaded error... "make_sock: could not bind to address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80 no listening sockets available, shutting down.".

You must not change the listen directive, or somthing other then *:80 for VirtualVhost, to make XAMPP available to the internet.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17102
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: Apache not binding.

Postby NetoBochas » 20. February 2009 21:41

Wiedmann wrote:
My XAMPP installation works fine locally, no problems. But when trying to make it available for other PCs around the internet, using a No-IP subdomain, I get the dreaded error... "make_sock: could not bind to address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80 no listening sockets available, shutting down.".

You must not change the listen directive, or somthing other then *:80 for VirtualVhost, to make XAMPP available to the internet.


Thanks for your reply. However, I couldn't understand too well, so, if it's not a bother, could you please explain it further?
NetoBochas
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20. February 2009 03:10

Re: Apache not binding.

Postby Wiedmann » 20. February 2009 22:04

I get the dreaded error... "make_sock: could not bind to address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80 no listening sockets available, shutting down.".

Well, from my crystal ball. You have something like this in your httpd.conf:
Code: Select all
Listen xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80

or you have something like this in your httpd-vhosts.conf:
Code: Select all
<VirtualHost xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80>

:?:

Don't do this. Use:
Code: Select all
Listen 80

or:
Code: Select all
<VirtualHost *:80>

:idea:
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17102
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: Apache not binding.

Postby NetoBochas » 20. February 2009 22:07

I have tried that already, if I do that, it can be accessed through localhost and by typing the pc's name from another local machine, but it is inaccessible for an external pc using the No-IP subdomain to access.
NetoBochas
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20. February 2009 03:10

Re: Apache not binding.

Postby Wiedmann » 20. February 2009 22:20

but it is inaccessible for an external pc using the No-IP subdomain to access.

So you must configure your router and/or firewall correctly.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17102
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: Apache not binding.

Postby NetoBochas » 21. February 2009 07:16

Wiedmann wrote:
but it is inaccessible for an external pc using the No-IP subdomain to access.

So you must configure your router and/or firewall correctly.


That's the main thing I was asking in this topic. DMZPlus mode allows me to make my webserver avaiable for the internet, so that would solve the problem, but as it is a really unsafe solution, I was asking if there was another way to make Apache work.
NetoBochas
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20. February 2009 03:10

Re: Apache not binding.

Postby Wiedmann » 21. February 2009 12:17

DMZPlus mode allows me to make my webserver avaiable for the internet,

What is/makes a "DMZPlus mode"?

so that would solve the problem, but as it is a really unsafe solution,

And why is this mode unsafe?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17102
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: Apache not binding.

Postby NetoBochas » 21. February 2009 16:00

Wiedmann wrote:
DMZPlus mode allows me to make my webserver avaiable for the internet,

What is/makes a "DMZPlus mode"?

so that would solve the problem, but as it is a really unsafe solution,

And why is this mode unsafe?


DMZPlus mode, opens all the ports for the node in question, and at least in what I've seen, it is unsafe in security matters. That's why I was asking if there was a way to open only the needed ports in the router, rather than opening them all with DMZPlus mode. And yes, I've already tried opening Port 80 several times.


Thanks for your time.
NetoBochas
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20. February 2009 03:10

Re: Apache not binding.

Postby Wiedmann » 21. February 2009 20:38

DMZPlus mode, opens all the ports for the node in question,

Well, all ports is unsecure. Correct.

Apache needs port 80 for HTTP (and port 443 fpr HTTPS if needed).
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17102
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: Apache not binding.

Postby NetoBochas » 22. February 2009 15:50

Thanks for your help and time.

It seems that the problem got solved itself. Now I can access to my server through my No-IP subdomain.
NetoBochas
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 20. February 2009 03:10


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 142 guests