Cannot access my laptop apache server from internet

Alles, was den Apache betrifft, kann hier besprochen werden.

Cannot access my laptop apache server from internet

Postby greenace92 » 18. November 2014 14:46

XAMPP version 1.8.3

German translation below

First I apologize that I did not realize this forum is primarily in German or I'm assuming that's the language.

Second prior to finding this website, I have not had XAMPP installed on my computer, not sure if that is a vital component. I do intend to use a database / store stuff

I have been having a heck of a time with Apache, fun learning stuff but I haven't gotten it to work fully

I did not realize that my website was not accessible to the public eg. outside of my own network

Luckily a friend pointed that out.

I do not have a static IP address, I have DHCP

I tried to work with Zone edit, I was following a website about using DNS

I bought a domain name and I don't know where I'm suppose to point the zone file, I'm using Godaddy

My domain name is www.ricekidengineer.com

For my hostname under GoDaddy's settings I have

LOCALHOST.ricekidengineer.com
For IP address I used the result when you search on Google "What is my IP address" it is different from the one I see on my router manager which has 192 vs. 71 first octet

I don't understand the @ HOST either, this is on Godaddy side as well

i have Host is left as @
Points to - I listed the DHCP IP Address or 192 first octet not the public ip address found on Google

For my .conf file which I edited in the terminal I have ServerName localhost

Then for Zone edit I have this

HOST
IP ADDRESS
ricekidengineer.com
192.168.1.8
www.ricekidengineer.com
192.168.1.8


I will not lie that I am blindly following random instructions and trying to solve the problem but I think without actually understanding what I am doing, I'm just going in circles.

This is the output I get when I run /usr/local/apache2/bin/apachectl -k start

[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.812218 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module authn_file_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.812535 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module authn_core_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.812671 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module authz_host_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.812784 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module authz_groupfile_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.812893 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module authz_user_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.813001 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module authz_core_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.813109 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module access_compat_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.813217 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module auth_basic_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.813329 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module reqtimeout_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.813438 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module filter_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.813546 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module mime_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.813654 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module log_config_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.813763 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module env_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.813871 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module headers_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.813979 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module setenvif_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.814086 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module version_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.814204 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module unixd_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.814313 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module status_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.814421 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module autoindex_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.814530 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module dir_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.814639 2014] [so:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH01574: module alias_module is already loaded, skipping
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.816022 2014] [core:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH00114: Useless use of AllowOverride in line 790 of /usr/local/apache2/conf/httpd.conf.
[Tue Nov 18 08:12:42.816225 2014] [alias:warn] [pid 2536:tid 140147338811200] AH00671: The ScriptAlias directive in /usr/local/apache2/conf/httpd.conf at line 869 will probably never match because it overlaps an earlier ScriptAlias.
AH00558: httpd: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.1.1. Set the 'ServerName' directive globally to suppress this message


Thank you for any help

This may be horrible to read but I will translate below as well to German

XAMPP -Version 1.8.3

Erstens entschuldige ich mich , dass ich nicht weiß, das Forum ist in erster Linie in deutscher oder ich gehe davon aus das ist die Sprache.

Zweite vor daran, diese Website , hatte ich noch nicht XAMPP installiert auf meinem Computer , nicht sicher, ob das ist eine entscheidende Komponente . Ich beabsichtige, eine Datenbank / Speicher- Zeug verwenden

Ich habe mit ein Heck einer Zeit mit Apache, Spaß am Lernen Zeug, aber ich habe nicht bekommen es voll arbeiten

Mir war nicht bewusst , dass meine Website der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zB war es nicht. außerhalb meiner eigenen Netz

Zum Glück ein Freund darauf hingewiesen , dass aus.

Ich glaube nicht, eine statische IP- Adresse haben , habe ich DHCP

Ich habe versucht, mit Zone bearbeiten arbeiten , wurde ich im Anschluss an eine Website über die Verwendung von DNS

Ich kaufte mir einen Domain-Namen , und ich weiß nicht, wo ich vermute , um die Zonendatei Punkt bin ich mit GoDaddy

Mein Domain-Name ist www.ricekidengineer.com

Für meine Hostnamen unter Einstellungen GoDaddys Ich habe

LOCALHOST.ricekidengineer.com
Für die IP-Adresse habe ich das Ergebnis , wenn Sie auf die Google-Suche : "Was ist meine IP-Adresse " unterscheidet es sich von der, die ich auf meinem Router Manager, der 192 vs. 71 erste Oktett hat zu sehen ist

Ich glaube nicht das @ HOST entweder verstehen , ist dies auf GoDaddy Seite sowie

Ich habe Host als linke @
Punkte auf - I aufgeführten den DHCP- IP-Adresse oder 192 erste Oktett nicht die öffentliche IP- Adresse auf Google gefunden

Für meine .conf-Datei , die ich in der Klemme editiert Ich habe Serverlocalhost

Dann für Zone bearbeiten Ich habe dieses

HOST
IP ADDRESS
ricekidengineer.com
192.168.1.8
www.ricekidengineer.com
192.168.1.8


Ich will nicht lügen , dass ich blind zu folgen Zufalls Anweisungen und versuchen, das Problem zu lösen , aber ich denke , ohne tatsächlich zu verstehen, was ich tue, ich werde einfach im Kreis.

Dies ist der Ausgangs ich, wenn ich laufen / usr / local / apache2 / bin / apachectl -k Start
greenace92
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 18. November 2014 14:27
Operating System: Linux Mint 17 Qiana 64 bit

Re: Cannot access my laptop apache server from internet

Postby Nobbie » 18. November 2014 22:59

greenace92 wrote:I will not lie that I am blindly following random instructions and trying to solve the problem but I think without actually understanding what I am doing, I'm just going in circles.


Obviously....

To keep it as short as possible: you will NEVER succeed with this kind of setup. The biggest problem is your dynamically assigned IP from your Internet Provider. This IP is assigned to your Router and this IP (and no IP else) has to be applied to the Godaddys configuration of your domain. BUT (as you will directly understand): this IP is not static, it changes every day. Therefore you cannot apply an IP to Godaddy, because already the next day this IP is invalid.

There are solutions for this problem of dynamic IPs, the most known are "www.dyndns.org" and "www.no-ip.com". But these do not provide domain names like yours.

You CANNOT apply your Local Lan IP (like 192.168.1.8), because this IP is not unique due to the design of TCPIP (i cannot explain that in only a few words, simply take it as it is).

For many more reasons, i cannot recommend to run your own server at home. You definately should go for an hosted webspace (what is not very expensive) and assign your Godaddy Domain Name to that webspace. This is by far the easiest solution for running your own webspace. Running a server at home requires a lot of knowlegde (what you dont have), it requires a lot of technical support, it requires 24/7 maintenance (what are you planning for you vacation, what will you do, if your Server is going down for any reason), it requires a very fast internet connection (what usually is not covered for upload speed, which results in download speed for your clients), and and and and and.

SImply ask Godaddy for appropriate space and/or ask any other provider. This will help you out immediately and solve all problems.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8761
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Cannot access my laptop apache server from internet

Postby greenace92 » 19. November 2014 06:25

Okay, thank you.

I'm just not able to afford hosting at the moment and I would like my website to be accessible as I have several locations pointing to it even advertising on facebook which actually did halt because the website was not working. I may go after the dynds solution you mentioned.

Thank you for your time.
greenace92
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 18. November 2014 14:27
Operating System: Linux Mint 17 Qiana 64 bit

Re: Cannot access my laptop apache server from internet

Postby greenace92 » 19. November 2014 11:31

Hey I just wanted to thank you once again.

My website is now live, I used No-IP and got everything

greenace92.ddns.net

Thanks once again

Sucks that it is not my domain name but it is still better than no live website. Especially when I have advertisements pointing to it and they are pointing to nothing.
greenace92
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 18. November 2014 14:27
Operating System: Linux Mint 17 Qiana 64 bit

Re: Cannot access my laptop apache server from internet

Postby greenace92 » 19. November 2014 15:22

I'm not sure if it is appropriate to ask here but

I noticed that if I take www.greenace92.ddns.net and type it into the url bar, it doesn't work
but if I take greenace92.ddns.net, that works

Why is that?

What does that have to do with www ?

I hosted it myself using my own computer and then used the no-ip to set up a host
greenace92
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 18. November 2014 14:27
Operating System: Linux Mint 17 Qiana 64 bit


Return to Apache

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests