Apache doesn't stop

Alles, was den Apache betrifft, kann hier besprochen werden.

Apache doesn't stop

Postby Frikkie » 28. August 2013 15:45

Hello

I recently got XAMPP and have been very happy with the result. I do however have one fairly strange issue.

After my initial XAMPP instalation, I switched my computer on the next morning and was unable to start Apache using the start_apache.bat file. The reason was that port 80 was busy. I did my research and eventually discovered that it was in fact APACHE running, using port 80. I had not started it, I had not used it, yet it is running. I tested a php script in my browser, and indeed, it was on. I can not switch it off now, stop_apache.bat has no effect.

So in short, Apache is ALWAYS running on my machine.

I don't mind this, its quite handy to just be able to test my php scripts at any time, but I am afraid that this could pose a security risk.

So my question: does running apache constantly with XAMPP pose a security risk to me? And how do I stop Apache if it is?

Thanks in advance

Frikkie
Frikkie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 28. August 2013 15:35
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Apache doesn't stop

Postby Altrea » 28. August 2013 15:51

Hi,

Please provide us any information about which XAMPP version you are using.
Maybe you have registered Apache to start as Windows service or a different Apache version is running.

If it is a security issue or not depends on how you have configured your router. If your Apache is accessible from the internet then yes that should not be done with XAMPP and can be an issue.

Best wishes,
Altrea
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Apache doesn't stop

Postby Frikkie » 29. August 2013 08:13

Hi Altrea

Thanks for that info. I'll have to be careful how and when I use XAMPP now because I have no idea how the router I use at work is set up.

My version of XAMPP is xampp portable win32 1.8.2-1 VC9. I use Windows 7.

Removed XAMPP from my computer, and searched my computer for Apache, and there was none, so perhaps it isn't another version...?

Thanks again.

Frikkie
Frikkie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 28. August 2013 15:35
Operating System: Windows 7


Return to Apache

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests