Doesn't show domain name on browser

Alles, was den Apache betrifft, kann hier besprochen werden.

Doesn't show domain name on browser

Postby ck2011 » 30. December 2011 03:19

Dear all,

I am having issue on my apache web server.

I am doing URL forwarding @ domain controller control panel. Say our client typing the domain xxx.com and it will redirect to 123.456.789.10/www (my webserver fix ip address). Our client browser will then shows 123.456.789.10/www on their browser instead of showing xxx.com.

Is this anything to do to my apache setting or how to go about it? It look weird to shows my client the ip address instead of the domain name.

Any idea?

Thanks & Regards,
Chris
ck2011
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 30. December 2011 03:07
XAMPP Version: 5.6.3
Operating System: Windows Server 2003

Re: Doesn't show domain name on browser

Postby Altrea » 02. January 2012 18:42

Hi ck2011,

ck2011 wrote:Say our client typing the domain xxx.com and it will redirect to 123.456.789.10/www (my webserver fix ip address).

Why should it redirect? The Domain should have an A-Record which resolves (NOT redirects) directly to the fix IP address.

ck2011 wrote:Our client browser will then shows 123.456.789.10/www on their browser instead of showing xxx.com.

Sure. A redirect is fully transparent to the user.

ck2011 wrote:Is this anything to do to my apache setting or how to go about it?

No, the Status Codes and its behavior of the HTTP are standardized by the IETF and defined by RFC 2616

ck2011 wrote:It look weird to shows my client the ip address instead of the domain name.

So why do you do that?

best wishes,
Altrea
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6764
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: W7Ux64

Re: Doesn't show domain name on browser

Postby rohonupe99 » 05. June 2012 21:01

I have the same issue as ck2011. My website is showing the ip address in the url instead of mydomain.com. I would like to knowhow to set this up properly if anyone can explain it to me.
rohonupe99
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 03. October 2011 22:56

Re: Doesn't show domain name on browser

Postby Altrea » 05. June 2012 23:12

Hi rohonupe99,

  • no introducing welcome line in any of your 6 threads (matter of politeness)
  • no information about anything about your environment in your profile
  • no information about anything about your environment in post
  • everything relevant is posted here by me i think
  • the unwritten one thread per issue and user rule
equals no further help here.

Do it better, next time.

best wishes,
Altrea
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6764
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: W7Ux64

Re: Doesn't show domain name on browser

Postby rohonupe99 » 24. June 2012 19:23

Altrea, if you didn't have an answer or solution to the question, all you had to do was either remain silent, or say you just don't know how to do what I asked. all of that you typed up was totally unnecessary.
rohonupe99
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 03. October 2011 22:56

Re: Doesn't show domain name on browser

Postby Altrea » 24. June 2012 20:02

rohonupe99 wrote:Altrea, if you didn't have an answer or solution to the question [...]

The answer is given. If you don't want to read it, thats not my problem.

rohonupe99 wrote:[...] all you had to do was either remain silent [...]

I don't think so.

rohonupe99 wrote:[...] or say you just don't know how to do what I asked [...]

The answer is still given.

rohonupe99 wrote:all of that you typed up was totally unnecessary.

Thats just your opinion.
You have to learn to follow rules. Rules of politeness, rules of how to post correctly to get qualified answers and other rules of the boards.
If you think that you can't do that, just leave here. There are hundred of Apache boards on the internet waiting for your questions.

Because that thread here has all needed answeres, i will close it now.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6764
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: W7Ux64


Return to Apache

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests