Overwrite configuration?

Alles, was den Apache betrifft, kann hier besprochen werden.

Overwrite configuration?

Postby cojones » 23. July 2009 12:08

Hello,

I'm having some kind of a configuration problem. There's a web administration thing managing my apache server and whenever I change something on the web panel the Apache config gets overwritten. Unfortunately I have some manual changes that get 'deleted' every time I do something on the web panel cause the whole thing gets rewritten.
Is there any possibility to kind of overwrite the settings using another file that doesn't get rewritten all the time?

Example:
<VirtualHost XX.XX.XX.XX:80>
...
DocumentRoot /var/www/htdocs
...
</Virtual>

needs to be

<VirtualHost XX.XX.XX.XX:80>
...
DocumentRoot /var/www/htdocs/public
...
</Virtual>

So whenever I do something on the web panel I have to change it by hand again. Is it for example possible to let apache load my main.conf and additional (and after loading main.conf) a second one like z.conf so
<VirtualHost XX.XX.XX.XX:80>
...
DocumentRoot /var/www/htdocs
...
</Virtual>
in the main.conf gets overwritten by
<VirtualHost XX.XX.XX.XX:80>
...
DocumentRoot /var/www/htdocs/public
...
</Virtual>
by the z.conf?

Hope you guy are getting my point. Thanks!
cojones
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 23. July 2009 11:59

Re: Overwrite configuration?

Postby Wiedmann » 23. July 2009 12:32

There's a web administration thing managing my apache server
I have some manual changes that get 'deleted' every time I do something on the web panel
Hope you guy are getting my point

You should read the manual from your web administration thing, how to add manual config values. Or ask the support from that software. (well, your serve administrator should this also know)
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: Overwrite configuration?

Postby cojones » 23. July 2009 12:55

I did both otherwise I wouldn't be asking now. There's nothing like a manual config value to set. Support from the software couldn't help either cause they just said that it can't be done cause the config is being rewritten every time I change something.
cojones
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 23. July 2009 11:59

Re: Overwrite configuration?

Postby Wiedmann » 23. July 2009 13:24

they just said that it can't be done cause the config is being rewritten every time I change something.

So you have your answer already: not possible.

Or you must do things like others:
Let these things do an administrator for you, which can manage a server without such a software. (or maybe just configure the complete Apache yourself without this software, if that's be possible with this app)
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: Overwrite configuration?

Postby cojones » 23. July 2009 14:16

Whatever, I just thought there's a possibilty to do it with Apache. That's it.
cojones
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 23. July 2009 11:59


Return to Apache

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests