Problems starting Apache

Alles, was den Apache betrifft, kann hier besprochen werden.

Problems starting Apache

Postby gpfdez » 15. November 2008 17:57

Hi there!

I am new with apache using linux. I installed it and now i'm trying to started it, but i have this problem:

"httpd: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.1.1 for ServerName
(99)Cannot assign requested address: make_sock: could not bind to address 192.168.0.1:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs"

Could somebody help me and tell me what to do? I read configurations manual but i don't know what Listen port should use or how should I configure httpd.conf file.

I hope your answers. Thanks a lot.
gpfdez
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 15. November 2008 17:52

Postby Wiedmann » 15. November 2008 18:16

You have installed a standalone Apache, or XAMPP?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby gpfdez » 15. November 2008 20:37

a Standalone Apache
gpfdez
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 15. November 2008 17:52

Postby Wiedmann » 15. November 2008 20:57

"httpd: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.1.1 for ServerName

The "ServerName" in "httpd.conf" must also exists in "/etc/hosts". (or just use "ServerName localhost").

Cannot assign requested address: make_sock: could not bind to address 192.168.0.1:80

The ip in "Listen" must be an ip from an existing network interface (ifconfig). (or just use "Listen 80".
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby gpfdez » 15. November 2008 21:33

thanks a lot! ;D
gpfdez
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 15. November 2008 17:52

Postby gpfdez » 15. November 2008 21:55

I changed ServerName on httpd.conf to : ServerName localhost, and tried too with ServerName 127.0.0.1, but it didn't work.

In the file /etc/hosts i've these lines :
127.0.0.1 localhost
127.0.1.1 xxxxx-laptop

I tried to change localhost to 127.0.1.1 and xxxx-laptop to 127.0.0.1 to prove if this worked but didn't.

Please, i need help, because I need to make this work. :roll:
gpfdez
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 15. November 2008 17:52

Postby Wiedmann » 15. November 2008 22:27

but it didn't work.

error message?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby gpfdez » 15. November 2008 23:11

Sorry, the error message is this:

$sudo /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
[sudo] password for pisevilla:

* Restarting web server apache2 apache2: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.1.1 for ServerName
... waiting apache2: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.1.1 for ServerName
gpfdez
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 15. November 2008 17:52

Postby Wiedmann » 15. November 2008 23:29

Maybe you have another config file with a second (wrong) ServerName directive (or you are editing the wrong file)?

BTW:
127.0.1.1 is really a curious ip for the loopback.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby gpfdez » 16. November 2008 00:08

Everything works! I've made a php file and I can see the result ;D

THANKS A LOT!!!!
gpfdez
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 15. November 2008 17:52


Return to Apache

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests