Do I need to register a domain name before I install Apache?

Alles, was den Apache betrifft, kann hier besprochen werden.

Do I need to register a domain name before I install Apache?

Postby Bill_Thompson » 26. June 2005 06:35

I have downloaded Apache for the Windows operating system and have read the installation documentation and I have a question.

I am getting Apache, by the way, so that I can:
  1. Edit and debug PHP without having to upload to a sever constantly.
  2. I can use Source Safe on my home computer. This is a somewhat long story. But, basically, Source Safe requires either IIS or Apache and IIS does not exist for Windows XP Home Edition.

Anway, in the installation documentaion for Apache, it reads:
Run the Apache .msi file you downloaded above. The installation will ask you for these things:

  1. Network Domain. Enter the DNS domain in which your server is or will be registered in. For example, if your server's full DNS name is server.mydomain.net, you would type mydomain.net here.


Do I need to register a domain name before I install Apache?
Bill_Thompson
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 25. June 2005 01:43

Postby Wiedmann » 26. June 2005 11:44

Do I need to register a domain name before I install Apache?

No.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany


Return to Apache

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests