XAMPP and NewzNab+ install on OS X

Problems with the Mac OS X version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

XAMPP and NewzNab+ install on OS X

Postby RoddyJoff » 07. September 2016 14:00

Hello,

I am trying to install XAMPP and NewzNab+ on a MacMini.

I did successfully manage this about two years ago and had a working indexer but then a house move and two new grandchildren put the project on the back burner. Now that I am nicely ensconced in my new house I wish to start again but sadly I have hit a brick wall.

I'm new to XAMPP etc but relatively OK with the terminal and am sure that this is a simple problem but I have no idea how to fix it.

I have a MacMini with a new OS X el Capitan installation and nothing else.
I have XAMMP 7.0.9-0 and NewsNab+ - I purchased the latter the last t time I embarked on this journey.

I followed this
https://forums.sabnzbd.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=12557&hilit=newznab+installation+tutorial+osx

guide which is the one I successfully used before.

After installing and accessing localhost from Safari I receive the following error

Access forbidden!

You don't have permission to access the requested directory. There is either no index document or the directory is read-protected.

If you think this is a server error, please contact the webmaster.

Error 403

localhost
Apache/2.4.23 (Unix) OpenSSL/1.0.2h PHP/7.0.9 mod_perl/2.0.8-dev Perl/v5.16.3

In the error log everytime I refresh the Safari page this is added

[Wed Sep 07 13:48:07.562050 2016] [core:error] [pid 9424] (13)Permission denied: [client ::1:49544] AH00035: access to / denied (filesystem path '/Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/htdocs/nnplus/www') because search permissions are missing on a component of the path

I understand what the messages means but have no idea how to fix the search permissions on a component of the path

Can anyone advise me how to correct the path pleas?