Please help! XAMPP Failed now I can't access local Joomla!

Problems with the Mac OS X version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Please help! XAMPP Failed now I can't access local Joomla!

Postby brody10 » 05. February 2013 19:16

Here is my situation (I'm not a techie or coder, so bear with me):

I was working on my joomla website, locally (it's not uploaded yet) and my Mac crashed for whatever reason, so xampp control panel was still running processes.
When I restarted, the control panel app was missing completely from my computer, or was hidden and not functioning.
I read the xampp docs and they said to SAVE htdocs and your files within, then just drop a new installation right into applications, after you delete the old xampp folder.
Done.
Now xammp and control panel run again, so I put my htdocs files into the appropriate folder in the new xampp and now I get this when I try to access my website or admin:
Database connection error (3): Could not connect to database
Now, I've kept the old files and notice that the database folder and it's files(city@002dguide) located in my OLD folder are not in the NEW one:
xamppfiles/var/mysql/city@002dguide/
I tried manually dropping the folder into the NEW XAMPP but then I got this:
Table 'city-guide.fq14m_session' doesn't exist SQL=INSERT INTO `fq14m_session` (`session_id`, `client_id`, `time`) VALUES ('a054875a88843f725e5327eaddb2b83f', 0, '1360087349')
I'm pulling my hair out trying to fix it. Can anyone help?
brody10

Operating System: Mac OS X Mountain lion

Re: Please help! XAMPP Failed now I can't access local Joom

Postby antoniomax » 14. February 2013 00:25

If you have hard copied the files inside var/mysql all you have to do is:

Reinstall XAMPP >
Copy the old mysql files (your folders and files, please dont overwrite app default files and dbs) >
Start XAMPP & MYSQL >
Access your PHPMYADMIN and check if your DB is there, and acessible through PHPMYADMIN >