#1045 - Access denied Help :(

Problems with the Mac OS X version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

#1045 - Access denied Help :(

Postby HelpJuan » 20. July 2011 17:37

I am completely new to making websites and I'm also new to Mac (read: don't know how to use terminal) but still I wanted to give XAMPP a shot.
So everything was going great until I tried to change the security setting on phpmyadmin. There were three root users with different hosts, and I gave each one of those a password under the edit privileges. When I then tried to go back to phpmyadmin, I got this error:
#1045 - Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: NO)

I looked at various threads and tried different things (as much as I could understand) and played around with Config.inc.php. Eventually I managed to change the error to
#1045 - Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)
But now I am stumped. I've tried going though Terminal, but I don't know how to use it to flush the password. Right now, my Config.inc.php is as follows...

* This is needed for cookie based authentication to encrypt password in
* cookie
*/
$cfg['blowfish_secret'] = 'MYPASSWORD'; /* YOU MUST FILL IN THIS FOR COOKIE AUTH! */

/*
* Servers configuration
*/
$i = 0;

/*
* First server
*/
$i++;
/* Authentication type */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'config';
/* Server parameters */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = 'localhost';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'root';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = 'MYPASSWORD';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'socket';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['compress'] = false;
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['AllowNoPassword'] = true;
/* Select mysqli if your server has it */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysql';
/* User for advanced features */
//$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pmauser';
//$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = 'MYPASSWORD';
/* Advanced phpMyAdmin features */
//$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pmadb'] = 'phpmyadmin';