Content Encoding Error

Problems with the Mac OS X version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Content Encoding Error

Postby pixiedavis » 29. March 2010 12:46

Hi

Installed 1.7.3 on mac os 10.6.2

Localhost in browser takes me to the xampp start page all ok.

Installed website backup all ok

Looked in php and the tables are all there.

When i go to my site on localhost/mysite it states - The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because it uses an invalid or unsupported form of compression.

HUH!!! - it worked on the home pc.

any help please.
pixiedavis
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 29. March 2010 12:40

Re: Content Encoding Error

Postby MegaChriz » 29. March 2010 16:29

How did you backup your websites and how did you set back that backup?
MegaChriz
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 16. February 2009 15:04
Location: Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Operating System: Mac OS X

Re: Content Encoding Error

Postby j_kour » 29. March 2010 16:51

I haven't backup anything. I just had 4 sites working fine and when I created a new folder I realized I can't see it from the browser

I am trying to figure out what is happening all day but I have no luck
j_kour
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29. March 2010 15:56

Re: Content Encoding Error

Postby pixiedavis » 29. March 2010 16:53

Joomla site 1.5.15

Using Akeeba backup & kickstart.php

All works fine on home pc - used backup to move it to work Mac (snow leopard)
pixiedavis
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 29. March 2010 12:40

Re: Content Encoding Error

Postby pixiedavis » 16. June 2010 15:14

Anybody got ideas on this. Still have not solved the problem

please any help
pixiedavis
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 29. March 2010 12:40

Re: Content Encoding Error

Postby MegaChriz » 18. September 2010 08:46

I have no experience with Akeeba backup.
What you can do best is going to http://localhost/phpmyadmin on your windows pc (assuming that uses XAMPP also) and export your database to a SQL file.
And on the mac you should also go to http://localhost/phpmyadmin, create a database and import the SQL file.

You might also need to edit the Joomla configuration file. I do not use Joomla anymore, but I remember that in the configuration file there were also some path settings (telling Joomla where it's located). You should set the path settings to something starting with /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/htdocs/

I hope that this helps.
MegaChriz
 
Posts: 158
Joined: 16. February 2009 15:04
Location: Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Operating System: Mac OS X


Return to XAMPP for Mac OS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests