MAMP - it just works...

Problems with the Mac OS X version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

MAMP - it just works...

Postby angstman » 26. August 2009 22:57

Hope I don't upset anyone - I'm a newbie - a no-nothing who has little experience with php, mySQL & apache servers etc. I started out life as an Art & Design student. But after days of hand wringing, hair pulling and general angst, I ditched XAMPP (1.7.2a) & downloaded MAMP. 5 minutes later everything was up & running, no problems, no issues, no weird mysteries with the terminal or BB editing of config files. Don't know about pcs, but in a Mac environment (10.5.7) - it just works, it does stuff that XAMPP wouldn't do (properly). I like MAMP so much, I'm gonna pay full purchase for MAMP pro - multiple virtual hosts - just what I need. If yo'u're running an Intel Mac & want a server that works first time get MAMP - it does what it says on the tin...in my humble opinion...
angstman

Re: MAMP - it just works...

Postby caltuna » 27. August 2009 06:42

It does NOT work. And there is no support. And the paid version is full of bugs the free version isn't. Before you do the MAMP fan-boy dance, take a look at their support boards and see how many posts never get an answer... and also notice how many complaints that there is no official support from anyone in MAMP corporate.

I came from MAMP as did many others here. I think that if MAMP had an active development team it would be a worthy competitor, but it doesn't. It has not been updated in a very long time and no one knows who is running the project.

If it works for you that's great. But as the self-confessed newbie that you admit to being, don't make judgments about things you really don't know a lot about... at least not in public because you will be proven wrong.