opening phpMyAdmin through XAMPP error message

Problems with the Mac OS X version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

opening phpMyAdmin through XAMPP error message

Postby hnw7 » 03. July 2009 23:48

Can someone help me overcome this error

Your configuration file contains settings (root with no password) that correspond to the default MySQL privileged account. Your MySQL server is running with this default, is open to intrusion, and you really should fix this security hole by setting a password for user '.root'.

Where do I start with this ? Any help appreciated
User avatar
hnw7
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 24. June 2009 04:05

Re: opening phpMyAdmin through XAMPP error message

Postby caltuna » 04. July 2009 05:06

If you are using XAMPP on a desktop machine that is not open to the internet (i.e. no one can get past your router), there is no reason you need to fix the message. It is put there in case someone is using XAMPP as webserve on the net. Not a good idea. It was built as a development platform, not a server platform.
caltuna
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 05. May 2009 16:35

Re: opening phpMyAdmin through XAMPP error message

Postby hnw7 » 04. July 2009 20:24

I see,

So there is no need for me to worry about it at this stage

thankyou
User avatar
hnw7
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 24. June 2009 04:05

Re: opening phpMyAdmin through XAMPP error message

Postby hnw7 » 04. July 2009 20:26

Caltuna,

I would like to know what to do in the event that I might want to go live to air.


Do you know the settings?
User avatar
hnw7
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 24. June 2009 04:05

Re: opening phpMyAdmin through XAMPP error message

Postby caltuna » 04. July 2009 20:33

Anyone without the network skills to detect and thwart intrusions should never open their machine up to the internet. There are plenty of guidelines on the web that will show you what to do, but my advice is not to do it because for most people it is like leaving the doors of an expensive sports car open with a sign that says "Hey, go ahead and steal me."

XAMPP (as is the built-in Apple Apache/PHP) was designed for internal use only. If you want to have an external site, get yourself a web host for a few dollars a month and do it that way. In the long run it will be a lot cheaper. One good hacker can screw up your machine such that you will have to reinstall everything. How expensive in your time and nervous system is that?

Al
http://www.insol123.com
caltuna
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 05. May 2009 16:35

Re: opening phpMyAdmin through XAMPP error message

Postby hnw7 » 05. July 2009 20:00

Caltuna thankyou,

I don't understand why people want to hack other peoples work?

But it happens and you are quite right.

I would like to learn more about the security aspects though even

though I have no intention of going live to air. I think it is atleast

good to be aware.

Thankyou again Caltuna :mrgreen:
User avatar
hnw7
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 24. June 2009 04:05

Re: opening phpMyAdmin through XAMPP error message

Postby wemseo » 05. July 2009 21:08

Hello

This is so stupid - don't get a heart attach, but ...
XAMPP (as is the built-in Apple Apache/PHP) was designed for internal use only.


I have an OSC site and would like to use XAMPP locally for further developments of the OSC site ... BUT ... New to XAMPP, I installed it with the .exe file, Apache/MySql/File Zilla is all running. Where and how do I add my OSC site to XAMPP so I can locally view?

Stupid, huh? :?
wemseo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 05. July 2009 20:54

Re: opening phpMyAdmin through XAMPP error message

Postby caltuna » 06. July 2009 04:11

What is an OSC site? Why would you install XAMPP on a Mac with a .exe file? How does that work?

Sorry, I have no idea what you are talking or asking about. Please clarify.
caltuna
 
Posts: 111
Joined: 05. May 2009 16:35


Return to XAMPP for Mac OS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests