Can not get passed Database page

Problems with the Mac OS X version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Can not get passed Database page

Postby bork21 » 07. July 2008 17:43

Okay I have a problem.... I go to http://localhost/joomla and do the install when I put in my information on page 4 I believe,Database
and try to proceed I keep getting this dialogue box, which is the 1st image below. It seems from all the other images I've attached, that MySQL is running. I've downloaded joomla and put the folder in my htdocs folder inside xampp which is under applications/utilities. I also clicked restart in the control box and that did not help.On page three there is a License which I read but I did not see a place to click that I agreed ....could I be missing something there and could that be the problem? I've got some amazing friends at this website I hope to contribute to, and they can't figure out why I can't get on board.... Thanking you in advance.... Broeck


ImageImageImageImage
Image
bork21
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 05. July 2008 19:34

Postby Wiedmann » 07. July 2008 17:53

I go to http://localhost/joomla and do the install when I put in my information on page 4 I believe,Database
and try to proceed I keep getting this dialogue box, which is the 1st image below.

The information you are using on page 4 must be wrong.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby bork21 » 07. July 2008 18:13

I leave the 1st field alone, I type in localhost and then my username, and then my password, and then joomladb for joomla database. Could it be something wrong on this page

Image
bork21
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 05. July 2008 19:34

Postby Wiedmann » 07. July 2008 18:46

I type in localhost and then my username, and then my password, and then joomladb for joomla database.

This user (with password) and database exists?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby bork21 » 07. July 2008 20:57

Yes ... It's me...aren't I the user
bork21
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 05. July 2008 19:34

Postby Wiedmann » 07. July 2008 21:10

Yes ... It's me...aren't I the user

Sorry, don't understand exactly what you mean.

But to clarify that:
MySQL users have nothing todo with OS users.
(see readme and/or xampp/osx homepage for the mysql default user)
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby bork21 » 08. July 2008 00:07

bork21
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 05. July 2008 19:34

Postby Wiedmann » 08. July 2008 00:33

Are you meaning this page

Yes. But another anchor:
http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-macosx.html#873
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby bork21 » 08. July 2008 16:31

Are you saying I need to run this command in a new terminal?

To fix most of the security weaknesses simply call the following command:

/Applications/xampp/xamppfiles/mampp security
bork21
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 05. July 2008 19:34

Postby Wiedmann » 08. July 2008 16:55

Are you saying I need to run this command in a new terminal?

No. Just read what is the default MySQL user (and password) in XAMPP.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby bork21 » 08. July 2008 18:33

I don't see the word default anywhere on the page you are sending me too. Are you wanting me to read this

startftp

Only the ProFTPD-Server is started. Via FTP you can upload files for your web server (user "nobody", password "xampp"). This command activates the ProFTPD permanently, e.g. if you restart XAMPP in the future FTP will stay activated.

I still don't understand why everything indicates that all is up and running, and I can't get past the database page. What am I doing wrong.....Thanks
bork21
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 05. July 2008 19:34

Postby Wiedmann » 08. July 2008 19:14

http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-macosx.html#876 wrote:1. The MySQL administrator (root) has no password.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby bork21 » 10. July 2008 14:20

Okay so my fields on the database page need a password and username that match something. Could you please explain how that works... How do I get around this... so that I can continue with http://localhost/joomla
bork21
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 05. July 2008 19:34


Return to XAMPP for Mac OS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests