Mac Newbie

Problems with the Mac OS X version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Mac Newbie

Postby alfred3x » 01. April 2008 05:49

Hello all. I've got 30+ yrs experience in IT. I'm just making the switch from PC to Mac. I've got some Linux experience, but am not completely comfortable there... which is why I opted for a Mac before jumping to Linux.

I've also been using XAMPP on the PC for a couple of years.

OK, that's my background. Here are a couple of questions:

1- when you start XAMPP on the Mac, does it remain "on" from one session to the next, or do you have to restart it every time? How do you set it up to start automatically?

2- How do you put the XAMPP bin directory on the path, so you don't have to type the entire path every time you want a XAMPP app?

3- Not XAMPP related: when typing in forms and textareas, how do you navigate the cursor on the text line? I'm talking about going back to the beginning of the line, or the end of the line, or going from one word to another? I've been using the arrow keys, one character at a tiime. :(

Thanks for the help!
- AAA
alfred3x

Re: Mac Newbie

Postby jmdirc » 02. April 2008 04:09

alfred3x wrote:1- when you start XAMPP on the Mac, does it remain "on" from one session to the next, or do you have to restart it every time? How do you set it up to start automatically?

Yes. It will stay on until you recall it and stop it. If you re-boot your computer it will be shut off in the mix. As for starting automagically on boot up. I've seen the directions somewhere - sorry can't remember. for some reason I can't access the preferences from the gui menu.

alfred3x wrote:2- How do you put the XAMPP bin directory on the path, so you don't have to type the entire path every time you want a XAMPP app?

I'm not sure what your asking. I've just copied the program icon to the dock.