Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Hier geht es um XAMPP AddOns wie z. B. das Apache-Konfigurations-Tool Apanatschi. Irgendwelche Probleme damit oder Fragen dazu? Dann ist hier genau der richtige Ort um nachzufragen.

Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby softaculous » 01. August 2014 14:33

Softaculous auto installer is now available on your desktop environments like XAMPP. Installing apps like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, Magento and 330+ applications is now as easy as ONE Click via Softaculous. Get started with developing a blog, forum, wiki, e-commerce site within minutes.

The Softaculous apps library includes popular applications, including: WordPress, Drupal, Joomla, Concrete5, Moodle, ShopSite, phpBB, MyBB, SMF, bbPress, b2evolution, StatusNet, Coppermine, Gallery, Mediawiki, DokuWiki, TikiWiki, Elgg, Dolphin, OpenX, SquirrelMail, LimeSurvey, Piwik, Mantis, SugarCRM, WHMCS, PrestaShop, Magento, CraftySyntax, osTicket, Claroline, etc. most of which can be installed in several languages by just choosing the language on the Install form.

To install Softaculous just follow the below doc:
http://www.softaculous.com/docs/Install ... s_in_XAMPP
Softaculous now available for XAMPP Windows
One Click Install apps like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal and many more
softaculous
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30. July 2014 11:27
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby JJ_Tagy » 01. August 2014 16:23

Nice! I'm trying it out now, but can't get anything to display (no errors) at the localhost enduser step... Just a blank page.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 549
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
XAMPP Version: 1.8.3
Operating System: Windows 7 x64

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby softaculous » 01. August 2014 17:18

Hi,

Can you let us know what the apache error logs say when you access Softaculous?
Softaculous now available for XAMPP Windows
One Click Install apps like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal and many more
softaculous
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30. July 2014 11:27
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby Altrea » 01. August 2014 17:54

Hi,

That are really great News. I'm a big fan of softaculous and like to see it working smoothly with XAMPP.

"Badly" i am on vacation for more than a week now and didn't take my notebook with me so i can not test it by myself.

So my questions:
Is Softaculous for XAMPP working on portable devices too?
Does the Softaculous Installation follow the XAMPP philosophy of not setting/changing any system settings like path variable or registry keys?

Thanks for providing this service.

Best wishes,
Altrea
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 6697
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: W7Ux64

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby JJ_Tagy » 01. August 2014 18:11

softaculous wrote:Hi,

Can you let us know what the apache error logs say when you access Softaculous?


127.0.0.1 - usernamehere [01/Aug/2014:11:01:02 -0400] "GET /softaculous/enduser/ HTTP/1.1" 200 -

I've got http authentication on my site (as indicated above), so I will pull it out to test again in a few. However, I would think that it would give me a 401 or some other error message if that were the case. I'll report back here.

UPDATE:
Yeah, same thing. I get a 200 and nothing in the error log. Ioncube is set up fine and works according to the test page. No errors encountered when running the softaculous install script.

127.0.0.1 - - [01/Aug/2014:13:16:05 -0400] "GET /softaculous/enduser/ HTTP/1.1" 200 -

UPDATE 2:
I did notice that it created a private folder with a db password (which I do have set), but not a scripts folder or a database in MySQL. I may have missed a step to create a db user for softaculous or is this normal behavior?

UPDATE 3:
Just in case I installed a fresh XAMPP installation on a Win7 VM and left the default error reporting on and found these:

[02-Aug-2014 04:52:43 Europe/Berlin] PHP Notice: Undefined index: restart in C:\xampp\htdocs\softaculous\install.php on line 183
[02-Aug-2014 04:52:45 Europe/Berlin] PHP Warning: rename(_index.php,index.php): The system cannot find the file specified. (code: 2) in C:\xampp\htdocs\softaculous\install.php on line 556
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 549
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
XAMPP Version: 1.8.3
Operating System: Windows 7 x64

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby softaculous » 02. August 2014 19:37

Hi,

Altrea wrote:So my questions:
Is Softaculous for XAMPP working on portable devices too?


Apparently, I doubt. But yes it's possible by changing few paths in one file. We will do something to make things easier in the coming versions.

Does the Softaculous Installation follow the XAMPP philosophy of not setting/changing any system settings like path variable or registry keys?


Yes, neither path variable not registry is changed.

In fact, User can consider now Softaculous as any PHP script I.e simply extract the archive in a folder and follow simple install steps. Install steps basically only checks few basic things like XAMPP Path, ionCube, PHP BIN path and some few more paths.
Softaculous now available for XAMPP Windows
One Click Install apps like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal and many more
softaculous
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30. July 2014 11:27
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby softaculous » 02. August 2014 19:38

JJ_Tagy wrote:
softaculous wrote:Hi,

Can you let us know what the apache error logs say when you access Softaculous?


127.0.0.1 - usernamehere [01/Aug/2014:11:01:02 -0400] "GET /softaculous/enduser/ HTTP/1.1" 200 -

I've got http authentication on my site (as indicated above), so I will pull it out to test again in a few. However, I would think that it would give me a 401 or some other error message if that were the case. I'll report back here.

UPDATE:
Yeah, same thing. I get a 200 and nothing in the error log. Ioncube is set up fine and works according to the test page. No errors encountered when running the softaculous install script.

127.0.0.1 - - [01/Aug/2014:13:16:05 -0400] "GET /softaculous/enduser/ HTTP/1.1" 200 -

UPDATE 2:
I did notice that it created a private folder with a db password (which I do have set), but not a scripts folder or a database in MySQL. I may have missed a step to create a db user for softaculous or is this normal behavior?

UPDATE 3:
Just in case I installed a fresh XAMPP installation on a Win7 VM and left the default error reporting on and found these:

[02-Aug-2014 04:52:43 Europe/Berlin] PHP Notice: Undefined index: restart in C:\xampp\htdocs\softaculous\install.php on line 183
[02-Aug-2014 04:52:45 Europe/Berlin] PHP Warning: rename(_index.php,index.php): The system cannot find the file specified. (code: 2) in C:\xampp\htdocs\softaculous\install.php on line 556


Hi,

I think you are providing the access log contents instead of error log.

Please provide error log after accessing softaculous.
Softaculous now available for XAMPP Windows
One Click Install apps like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal and many more
softaculous
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30. July 2014 11:27
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby JJ_Tagy » 02. August 2014 19:57

That's just it. As I mentioned above, there are no errors other than the php awnings listed.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 549
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
XAMPP Version: 1.8.3
Operating System: Windows 7 x64

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby softaculous » 03. August 2014 19:02

JJ_Tagy wrote:That's just it. As I mentioned above, there are no errors other than the php awnings listed.


Hi,

Are you connected to internet through proxy?
Apparently, direct Internet connection is required to install Softaculous, proxy is not supported yet.
Softaculous now available for XAMPP Windows
One Click Install apps like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal and many more
softaculous
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30. July 2014 11:27
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby JJ_Tagy » 03. August 2014 19:12

No, I have direct connection mostly. Currently behind a router. I wonder ... I think satellite does something weird with IP addresses.

EDIT: I'll try another connection when I go to work tomorrow and see if anything changes.

EDIT2: If it helps, I ran Wireshark and there weren't any outbound connection requests.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 549
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
XAMPP Version: 1.8.3
Operating System: Windows 7 x64

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby softaculous » 04. August 2014 09:13

JJ_Tagy wrote:No, I have direct connection mostly. Currently behind a router. I wonder ... I think satellite does something weird with IP addresses.

EDIT: I'll try another connection when I go to work tomorrow and see if anything changes.

EDIT2: If it helps, I ran Wireshark and there weren't any outbound connection requests.


Hi,

Please download the package again and try installing from scratch.
Softaculous now available for XAMPP Windows
One Click Install apps like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal and many more
softaculous
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30. July 2014 11:27
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby JJ_Tagy » 04. August 2014 13:54

Everything went smooth this time. I'm up and operational. Nice work, thanks!

As for feedback, would you prefer here or on your site somewhere? I have a few suggestions.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 549
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
XAMPP Version: 1.8.3
Operating System: Windows 7 x64

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby softaculous » 04. August 2014 14:39

Hi,

Thank you !

You can provide your suggestions on Softaculous Forum:
http://www.softaculous.com/board/index.php?fid=2&fname=Suggestions
Softaculous now available for XAMPP Windows
One Click Install apps like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal and many more
softaculous
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30. July 2014 11:27
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby stevsurf » 05. August 2014 09:37

I have installed Softaculous for xampp.
The installation seemed OK, but problems arose when I tried to use it to install Joomla 3.3.3.
I set the Administrator name and password, but when I tried to log in to Joomla the password was not accepted. This was not a typo on my part.
Why did the installation not save my admin password properly? :cry:
stevsurf
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 05. August 2014 09:28
XAMPP Version: 1.8.3-1
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Softaculous now available for Free on XAMPP

Postby softaculous » 06. August 2014 08:47

stevsurf wrote:I have installed Softaculous for xampp.
The installation seemed OK, but problems arose when I tried to use it to install Joomla 3.3.3.
I set the Administrator name and password, but when I tried to log in to Joomla the password was not accepted. This was not a typo on my part.
Why did the installation not save my admin password properly? :cry:


Which PHP version are you using ?
Softaculous now available for XAMPP Windows
One Click Install apps like WordPress, Joomla, Drupal and many more
softaculous
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30. July 2014 11:27
XAMPP Version: 5.5.19
Operating System: Windows


Return to XAMPP AddOns

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests