Newbie: File system layout ans installation location

Problems with the Solaris version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Newbie: File system layout ans installation location

Postby sendres » 21. July 2006 21:11

Okay, I'm sure this is more of a Solaris question than an XAMPP question, but I thought someone here might have the best advice nonetheless...

I want to set up a little server on my home network for web development projects; I don't plan to use it for anything else. Although I've used Solaris somewhat at school for programming projects, this is the first time I've tried setting up my own system. I'm also a newbie to XAMPP.

I acquired an old Sun SparcStation 5 with dual 2.1GB drives. I know that's not a ton of disk space by modern standards but I figured it's enough to play with. I formatted both drives and performed a clean install of Solaris 8. Along the way, I selected auto-layout for the file system, which I'm told is the thing for newbies to do. The installer came up with the following layout:

Code: Select all
   overlap       c0t1d0s2 2028 MB
   /export/home0 c0t1d0s7 2028 MB
   /             c0t3d0s0   45 MB
   /usr/openwin  c0t3d0s1  247 MB
   overlap       c0t3d0s2 2028 MB
   /var          c0t3d0s3   25 MB
   swap          c0t3d0s4  147 MB
   /opt          c0t3d0s5   25 MB
   /usr          c0t3d0s6  377 MB
   /export/home  c0t3d0s7 1158 MB

Now, it's my understanding that XAMPP installs to /opt/xampp by default. In looking at this filesystem, I see that /opt is allocated 25MB, but the XAMPP download alone is 38MB.

Is this going to be a problem? Should I have tried to manually layout the file system? Should I install somewhere besides /opt? Other advice?

Thanks so much for any help...

Steven
sendres

Postby pawill79 » 22. July 2006 07:53

With such a small disk you may benefit from manually redoing your partition layout. So instead of using Auto-layout, go with Manual-layout.

Partition scheme you can use...