Upgrade 1.77 to 1.82

Problems with the Linux version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Upgrade 1.77 to 1.82

Postby Dweeber » 03. August 2013 19:33

I am currently using 1.77 on a few servers. I want to upgrade to current 1.8.2

Would it be easier to use each of the upgrades to go from 1.77 to 1.8.0 to 1.8.1 to 1.82 (assuming the last upgrade exists) OR Just install 1.8.2 and move my content over.

I'm leaning on just doing a new install but I've never actually moved SQL databases from one serve to another (the whole thing including user permissions and accounts) before. I've only moved databases one at a time and recreated users and permissions for them as I went along.

But since I've never used one of the upgrades before, that might be easier?

Suggestions please.
Dweeber

Operating System: Solaris 10 Sparc & x86

Re: Upgrade 1.77 to 1.82

Postby Dweeber » 24. August 2013 13:03

Well... nobody responded...

So.. What I did was....

o Used a script to get the databases and user grants and saved them (See scripts below)
o Shutdown the system
o Make sure I had a really good backup
o mv /opt/lampp to /opt/lampp.old
o Ran the install script xampp-linux-1.8.2-1-installer.run
o Ran a script to change all nobody -> daemon and nogroup -> daemon for my web tree which is in /www (not in /opt/lamp/... )
o Started up Lampp

I had some problems right off the bat... seems that a new command is needed for auth call called Require all granted

o After I figured that out, I then started up Mysql
o Reloaded the databases from the data file I created form the beginning (I had already removed the MySQL and test databases and named the result databases.sql)
o And reloaded the Grants that I also saved in the beginning (I had already removed the users and grants I didn't want and named it grants.sql)

And other than an issue I had with PHP, it basically worked out okay.

Scripts