????/opt/lampp/lib/VERSION!

Problems with the Linux version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

????/opt/lampp/lib/VERSION!

Postby PaulW » 04. September 2011 20:33

Xampp starts OK; however, the main page displays
Welcome to XAMPP for Linux ????/opt/lampp/lib/VERSION!
The contents of /opt/lampp/lib/VERSION is "1.7.4". I wonder what's going on and what is the significance of the "????".
PaulW
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 20. November 2005 17:20
Location: Norton, Ohio (USA)

Re: ????/opt/lampp/lib/VERSION!

Postby JonB » 06. September 2011 17:50

do you mean that is what is displayed when you type in:

http://localhost (after starting XAMPP/LAMPP)

??? < not meaning to be punny

8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: ????/opt/lampp/lib/VERSION!

Postby PaulW » 06. September 2011 21:21

JonB,
Yup, exactly. I start Xampp with "/opt/lampp/lampp". Then I open my web browser with "http://localhost". Xampp starts just fine and all is well except for the message, including the "????", (in orange) that appears on the Xampp home page. It seems that Xampp can't find or can't read /opt/lampp/lib/VERSION.
PaulW
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 20. November 2005 17:20
Location: Norton, Ohio (USA)

Re: ????/opt/lampp/lib/VERSION!

Postby JonB » 06. September 2011 23:11

OK

There are a couple possibilities -
A. - Did you tinker at all with chown? could be a permissions or ownership.

B. - did you ever get the Splash screen where you get to select a default language???

these are all WTF? guesses
I have the weirdest idea this is a default encoding issue.. (which might be due to an un-selected language)

You could drop a note to Oswald, I can't imagine who else would know what is up...
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7

Re: ????/opt/lampp/lib/VERSION!

Postby PaulW » 07. September 2011 00:29

JonB,

Here are some more details...

I'm using a dual-boot system and have all my data files (including htdocs) on a windows (ntfs) partition. I am running Xampp from my Linux OS.

I have modified /opt/lampp/etc/httpd.conf in two places to point to the windows folder:
lines 179-180:
Code: Select all
#DocumentRoot "/opt/lampp/htdocs"
DocumentRoot "/media/data/Users/Paul/WebFiles/htdocs"
lines 208-209:
Code: Select all
#<Directory "/opt/lampp/htdocs">
<Directory "/media/data/Users/Paul/WebFiles/htdocs">
In the /opt/lampp folder, I have have the added this link:
Code: Select all
htdocs -> /media/data/Users/Paul/WebFiles/htdocs
I renamed the original /opt/lampp/htdocs to /opt/lampp/~htdocs to "inactivate" it and copied all the files in htdocs to /media/data/Users/Paul/WebFiles/htdocs.

Xampp works fine and utilizes the files in the linked htdocs directory. The only problem seems to be the display of ther Xampp version on the Xampp home page.

I have not changed the ServerRoot location in /opt/lampp/etc/httpd.conf. It is still
Code: Select all
ServerRoot "/opt/lampp"
So, although the Xampp version is not displayed correctly on the Xampp home page, the impact seems to be trivial since Xampp works just fine. I guess I'll just leave it alone unless you or someone can point to a quick fix.

Thanks for your input.
PaulW
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 20. November 2005 17:20
Location: Norton, Ohio (USA)

Re: ????/opt/lampp/lib/VERSION!

Postby JonB » 07. September 2011 02:53

Well, there's our answer, LOL. My, you sure managed to brush over some extremely important details :shock:

If it works, I would not tinker with it.

I can't imagine what a fix would be, other than to run Samba - and that's a mess as well..

8)
User avatar
JonB
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: 12. April 2010 16:41
Location: Land of the Blazing Sun
Operating System: Windows XP/7 - Fedora 15 1.7.7


Return to XAMPP for Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests