Changing configuration?

Problems with the Linux version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Changing configuration?

Postby YamiHoshi » 20. May 2010 20:14

I have a Debian VPS, where I've totally fucked up MySQL, so I had to switch back to XAMPP.
Now I have this:
My server still thinks I'm running Apache2, PHP, etc., but I've uninstalled it already.
After removing Apache2, PHP, MySQL, PHPMyAdmin, and other LAMP shit, and installing XAMPP, I can't load it in my webbrowsers on neither /, /xampp or /phpmyadmin.
How do I fix this?
YamiHoshi
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 20. May 2010 19:53

Re: Changing configuration?

Postby YamiHoshi » 25. May 2010 06:45

Anyone?
YamiHoshi
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 20. May 2010 19:53

Re: Changing configuration?

Postby Nobbie » 25. May 2010 09:54

Did you reboot the machine?
Did you successfully install Xampp?
Did you successfully start Xampp?
Did you clear the browser cache?
What do you enter in the browsers URL input line for "/", "/xampp" and "/phpmyadmin" (as these are not URLs)?
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8760
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Changing configuration?

Postby YamiHoshi » 25. May 2010 10:35

No.
Yes.
Yes.
No.
The IP of the server (there's no domain active on it, yet).

Edit:
If I do "ps aux | less" and "killall", I get this:
Code: Select all
...
root     18855  0.0  0.2   1752   340 ?        S    May20   0:00 /bin/sh /usr/bin/mysqld_safe
mysql    18903  0.0  1.5 112172  1976 ?        Sl   May20   0:00 /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir=/usr --datadir=/var/lib/mysql --user=mysql --log-error=/var/lib/mysql/client319.alp.nl.weservit.nl.err --pid-file=/var/lib/mysql/client319.alp.nl.weservit.nl.pid
...
client319:/opt/lampp# killall /usr/sbin/mysqld
/usr/sbin/mysqld: Bestand of map bestaat niet
client319:/opt/lampp# killall 18903
18903: geen proces gevonden
client319:/opt/lampp#
YamiHoshi
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 20. May 2010 19:53

Re: Changing configuration?

Postby Nobbie » 25. May 2010 10:51

YamiHoshi wrote:No.


No reboot - keeps the old apache (and mysql) process active. OF COURSE you have to reboot your machine.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8760
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Changing configuration?

Postby YamiHoshi » 25. May 2010 10:58

After rebooting, I got this:
Code: Select all
client319:~# /opt/lampp/lampp start
Starting XAMPP for Linux 1.7.3a...
XAMPP: Another web server daemon is already running.
XAMPP: Starting MySQL...
XAMPP: Starting ProFTPD...
XAMPP for Linux started.
client319:~#

Means that Apache isn't fully removed, after all.
YamiHoshi
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 20. May 2010 19:53

Re: Changing configuration?

Postby Nobbie » 25. May 2010 11:10

YamiHoshi wrote:Means that Apache isn't fully removed, after all.


Yes, because you did everything wrong man can do wrong. You obviously "killed" the Apache Process manually instead of shutting down your machine, which leaves a pid file on your PC, what makes Xampp "believing", that there is still another Apache active.

You are really talented in "fucking up" your software. You must now find out which file the pid file is and remove it manually.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8760
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Changing configuration?

Postby YamiHoshi » 25. May 2010 11:31

Some nicer posts are more welcoming, like telling me where the PID file is in Debian, as an example.
YamiHoshi
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 20. May 2010 19:53


Return to XAMPP for Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests