ProFTP set-up

Problems with the Linux version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

ProFTP set-up

Postby aroxo » 14. December 2009 14:02

Hey Guys,

I'm running XAMPP and very happy with it. I'm just trying to set up an ProFTP and I'm not sure where to start. I've edited the proftpd.conf file, the user is set to "nobody" and there is a secure password, but when I try and connect to the FTP server nothing is reported back at all - I don't even get the chance to log in.

I suspect that there's something wrong with the basic set-up, but I'm not sure.

Any help - MUCH appreciated!

Matt.
aroxo
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 25. February 2009 15:19

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby aroxo » 17. December 2009 15:37

Hope you don't mind, just bumping...
aroxo
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 25. February 2009 15:19

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby Wiedmann » 17. December 2009 15:48

but when I try and connect to the FTP server nothing is reported back at all

- How exactly?
- from the same pc as XQAMPP is installed?
- the log from your FTP client?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby aroxo » 23. December 2009 13:13

From an FTP client? Is there a way I can test it locally at all?
aroxo
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 25. February 2009 15:19

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby aroxo » 23. December 2009 13:35

Actually - let me ask a different and possibly easier question.

Aside from typing /opt/lampp/lampp startftp

What else do I need to do to get FTP running on Linux?

Hu-mungos thanks in advance....
aroxo
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 25. February 2009 15:19

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby Wiedmann » 23. December 2009 13:47

Aside from typing /opt/lampp/lampp startftp

What else do I need to do to get FTP running on Linux?

Nothing.

(Of course, "/opt/lampp/lampp start" is also starting the FTP service, together with the others.)
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby aroxo » 23. December 2009 14:24

Could it be a lack of user accounts? At the moment I'm trying to log in using FileZilla from a remote PC, using nobody and the password I've set in proftpd.conf. And this is the output I'm getting:

Status: Resolving address of [SERVER]
Status: Connecting to [CORRECT IP]...
Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message...
Error: Connection timed out
Error: Could not connect to server
Status: Waiting to retry...

Maybe I need to create a user account? Maybe there's a firewall issue which is blocking port 21, maybe even I should have set something up the DNS somehow? I'm sure I'm just missing something obivous.

If I type netstat -a I get this:

Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State
tcp 0 0 *:mysql *:* LISTEN
tcp 0 0 localhost.lo:submission *:* LISTEN
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdom:smtp *:* LISTEN
tcp 0 0 ip-10-224-63-xx.e:mysql ABTS-TN-Static-23:53986 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 ip-10-224-63-xx.e:mysql ABTS-TN-Static-23:58313 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 ip-10-224-63-xx.e:mysql ABTS-TN-Static-23:56422 ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 ip-10-224-63-xx.e:34653 ec2-79-125-4-x.:mysql TIME_WAIT
tcp 0 0 ip-10-224-63-xx.e:34654 ec2-79-125-4-x.:mysql ESTABLISHED
tcp 0 0 ip-10-224-63-xx.e:34651 ec2-79-125-4-x.:mysql TIME_WAIT
tcp 0 0 ip-10-224-63-xx.e:mysql ec2-79-125-4-x.:34654 ESTABLISHED
tcp6 0 0 *:www *:* LISTEN
tcp6 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN
tcp6 0 0 *:https *:* LISTEN
tcp6 0 0 ip-10-224-63-xx.eu-:ssh ABTS-TN-Static-23:58266 ESTABLISHED
tcp6 0 0 ip-10-224-63-xx.eu-:www ABTS-TN-Static-23:58593 ESTABLISHED
tcp6 0 0 ip-10-224-63-xx.eu-:ssh ABTS-TN-Static-23:53990 ESTABLISHED
tcp6 0 0 ip-10-224-63-xx.eu-:ssh ABTS-TN-Static-23:57087 ESTABLISHED
tcp6 0 0 ip-10-224-63-xx.eu-:www ABTS-TN-Static-23:58684 TIME_WAIT
tcp6 0 0 ip-10-224-63-xx.eu-:ssh ABTS-TN-Static-23:56591 ESTABLISHED
tcp6 0 2396 ip-10-224-63-x.eu-:ssh genkt-049-012.t-m:54602 ESTABLISHED
udp 0 0 *:bootpc *:*
Active UNIX domain sockets (servers and established)
Proto RefCnt Flags Type State I-Node Path
unix 2 [ ACC ] STREAM LISTENING 2461459 /opt/lampp/logs/cgisock.8774
unix 2 [ ] DGRAM 727 @/org/kernel/udev/udevd
unix 2 [ ACC ] STREAM LISTENING 21186 /vol/mysql/mysql.sock
unix 5 [ ] DGRAM 2524 /dev/log
unix 2 [ ACC ] STREAM LISTENING 2627 /var/run/sendmail/mta/smcontrol
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2827998
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2827997
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2827996
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2827995
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2825801
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2825800
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2825799
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2825798
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2812847
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2812846
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2812845
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2812844
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2796213
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2796212
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2796211
unix 3 [ ] STREAM CONNECTED 2796210
unix 2 [ ] DGRAM 18896
unix 2 [ ] DGRAM 2624
unix 2 [ ] DGRAM 2539

Your help is hugely appreciate. :)
aroxo
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 25. February 2009 15:19

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby Wiedmann » 23. December 2009 14:36

At the moment I'm trying to log in using FileZilla from a remote PC

From the same network (LAN)?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby aroxo » 23. December 2009 14:39

Nope, over the Internet. There is something basic which I've not done, I'm sure....
aroxo
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 25. February 2009 15:19

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby Wiedmann » 23. December 2009 14:50

Nope, over the Internet.

Is it working from the same network and/or from the same pc (localhost)?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby aroxo » 23. December 2009 14:53

No totally different machines. The server is an Amazon hosted virtual server somewhere in Ireland. I'm in a coffee shop in London on a netbook....
aroxo
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 25. February 2009 15:19

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby Wiedmann » 23. December 2009 14:57

The server is an Amazon hosted virtual server somewhere in Ireland.

So you can't test from the same network, of course you can test from the same pc. Just use a shell tool which is able to do a ftp connection (e.g. the normal ftp command).
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby aroxo » 23. December 2009 15:01

What could I enter into the shell of the server to test it?
aroxo
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 25. February 2009 15:19

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby Wiedmann » 23. December 2009 15:43

What could I enter into the shell of the server to test it?

I can't help you with the Linux command line. But I guess the ftp command is also having a man page (like other commands).
(On Windows it's executing the "ftp" command and then typing "open localhost".)
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Re: ProFTP set-up

Postby amex4152 » 29. January 2010 22:13

Hi, I have exactly the same problem,

using Ubuntu 9.10 on Amazon EC2, trying to set up XAMPP,so far unsuccefully... Could you solve the problem?

Regards.
amex4152
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 29. January 2010 22:07

Next

Return to XAMPP for Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests