Could not start Lampp

Problems with the Linux version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Could not start Lampp

Postby Multi_PlY » 01. April 2009 16:46

root@Hell:/opt/lampp# ./lampp start
Starting XAMPP for Linux 1.7...
XAMPP: Starting Apache with SSL (and PHP5)...
XAMPP: Error 1! Couldn't start Apache!
XAMPP: Starting diagnose...
XAMPP: Sorry, I've no idea what's going wrong.
XAMPP: Please contact our forum http://community.apachefriends.org/f/
XAMPP: Starting MySQL...
XAMPP: Starting ProFTPD...
XAMPP: /opt/lampp/sbin/proftpd: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.3.4' not found (required by /opt/lampp/sbin/proftpd)
XAMPP: Error 1! Couln't start ProFTPD!
XAMPP for Linux started.

What's the reason of this ?

Thanks!!!
Multi_PlY
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 01. April 2009 16:42

Re: Could not start Lampp

Postby rocky1954 » 04. April 2009 11:32

I have almost the same error with the only diffference taht it seems to start ProFTPD

root@nestor-desktop:/home/nestor/Escritorio# /opt/lampp/lampp start
Starting XAMPP for Linux 1.7...
XAMPP: Starting Apache with SSL (and PHP5)...
XAMPP: Error 1! Couldn't start Apache!
XAMPP: Starting diagnose...
XAMPP: Sorry, I've no idea what's going wrong.
XAMPP: Please contact our forum http://community.apachefriends.org/f/
XAMPP: Starting MySQL...
XAMPP: Starting ProFTPD...
XAMPP for Linux started.

I am working with Ubuntu 8.10

And the other matter is that since I installed XAMPP I have problem starting PHP pages with Firefox.

Regards
rocky1954
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 04. April 2009 11:24

Re: Could not start Lampp

Postby Nobbie » 04. April 2009 11:57

Dann schau mal in den Error Log von Apache rein, da steht drin woran der Start scheitert.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8775
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Could not start Lampp

Postby rocky1954 » 06. April 2009 10:11

Nobbie wrote:Dann schau mal in den Error Log von Apache rein, da steht drin woran der Start scheitert.


¿? I beg your pardon, I don't understand German language.
rocky1954
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 04. April 2009 11:24

Re: Could not start Lampp

Postby Nobbie » 06. April 2009 11:34

rocky1954 wrote:¿? I beg your pardon, I don't understand German language.


And why do you post in the german board?
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8775
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Could not start Lampp

Postby rocky1954 » 06. April 2009 17:44

Nobbie wrote:
rocky1954 wrote:¿? I beg your pardon, I don't understand German language.


And why do you post in the german board?


My apologies, but in the forum I am consulting everything is in english and the web is called "Apache friends in English". Nevertheless, where can I post my question then?
rocky1954
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 04. April 2009 11:24

Re: Could not start Lampp

Postby SFreeper » 07. April 2009 06:35

He was asking you to post your error_logs files. They should be in /opt/lampp/logs. Maybe, we can find a clue there.

@Nobbie: Wäre es nicht einfacher, ihm einfach ein bisschen entgegen zu kommen?
SFreeper
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 27. March 2009 09:47

Re: Could not start Lampp

Postby rocky1954 » 07. April 2009 10:13

Thanks for your reply.
I found four log files in /opt/lampp/logs/: apachestart.log, access_log, error_log and sslrequest_log.

The only one with some content is the first one: apachestart.log, the rest are empty.

This is the content:
(98)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address 0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs


Hope this help, I need to install Joomla in my local pc and I understan that I need Lampp wrking.

Thanks again.
rocky1954
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 04. April 2009 11:24

Re: Could not start Lampp

Postby SFreeper » 07. April 2009 13:02

Is it possible, that you have a second Apache installed and running on Port 80? That's the only thing that comes to my mind, when I see this..
SFreeper
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 27. March 2009 09:47

Re: Could not start Lampp

Postby rocky1954 » 08. April 2009 07:41

How can I find out this, please?
rocky1954
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 04. April 2009 11:24

Re: Could not start Lampp

Postby Nobbie » 08. April 2009 12:48

Open a browser, enter http://localhost (or http://127.0.0.1) and hit enter. Or simply click the links in this message.

If a page opens (like "It works" or similar), you already have Apache installed and running.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8775
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Could not start Lampp

Postby rocky1954 » 09. April 2009 07:29

Thank you very much. Yes I am connected.
rocky1954
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 04. April 2009 11:24


Return to XAMPP for Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests