Howto make Apache available over the network

Problems with the Linux version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Howto make Apache available over the network

Postby brunomiguel » 23. May 2007 21:08

Hi. I downloaded lampp and I need it to be only available over my network, but I can't access it. How can I do it? I've searched in the forum, but I didn't find an answer.
brunomiguel
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 18. October 2006 21:22

Postby Makuro » 23. May 2007 22:45

Hi brunomiguel,

so, just to review your problem.

you installed xampp on your linux machine and started it also yes?

you want to access xampp only over your lan ip.

which means on 192.168.1.50 and not on the internet ip 212.227.33.44 did i get you right?
jedes Kind braucht Großeltern!
Es sind die einzigen Personen die bezeugen können , das die eigenen Eltern nicht besser waren.
Makuro
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 23. May 2007 12:23

Postby brunomiguel » 23. May 2007 22:49

Yes, I have installed xampp. And yes, I only want to enable access in my lan.
brunomiguel
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 18. October 2006 21:22

Postby brunomiguel » 23. May 2007 23:04

I just found the problem. I'm using a proxy and, although I had defined my lan ip range not to use the proxy, in firefox, it was using it...
I had 192.168.1.0/255 but, when I changed it to 192.168.1.0/200, it worked.
It's probably a bug in Firefox.

Thanks for the help!
brunomiguel
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 18. October 2006 21:22

Postby Wiedmann » 24. May 2007 11:26

I had 192.168.1.0/255

I think you mean 192.168.1.0/24.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby brunomiguel » 24. May 2007 12:55

Nop. I really mean 192.168.1.0/255. Since I changed it to 192.168.1.0/200, it worked
brunomiguel
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 18. October 2006 21:22

Postby Wiedmann » 24. May 2007 13:17

Nop. I really mean 192.168.1.0/255

255 (or 200) is not a valid value for the netmask in CIDR notation.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby brunomiguel » 24. May 2007 13:47

I believe you. But it's working with 200
brunomiguel
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 18. October 2006 21:22

Postby Wiedmann » 24. May 2007 13:54

But it's working with 200

That only seems so.

Thus I think, it's nevertheless a good idea to make it correct.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany


Return to XAMPP for Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests