several instances of apache (on different ports)with xampp ?

Problems with the Linux version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

several instances of apache (on different ports)with xampp ?

Postby meuced » 14. December 2006 20:17

Hello

how it is possible to have several instances of apache running, on different ports ? ie one instance on port 80, one on 81, etc...
the archive must be decompress in /opt/lamp/ directory, paths are written "hard", not with variables...
i toughtto do this :
/opt/lamp80/ -> apache running on port 80
/opt/lamp81/ -> apache running on port 81
etc...
but there are a lot of files to modify...
any idea ?

thanks a lot ;)
meuced
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 14. December 2006 20:11

Postby Kristian Marcroft » 14. December 2006 21:58

Hi,

why do you require multiple instances of LAMPP?
You can have Apache run on multiple Ports by just defining multiple "Listen" Options in your configuration. All you need to do is create some VirtualHosts for the new Ports.

Regards,
Kristian Marcroft
User avatar
Kristian Marcroft
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 2962
Joined: 03. January 2003 12:08
Location: Diedorf

Postby rishi » 01. February 2007 20:48

I would want to know how to run multiple instances of XAMPP as well.

My reason is that I have two php applications; one is only compatible with PHP5 and the other with PHP4. So, until the latter application becomes available to run on PHP5, I'm unable to run both on the same server.

I would appreciate any suggestions..
rishi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 01. February 2007 20:37

Postby Wiedmann » 01. February 2007 20:54

I think it's to use PHP 4 and 5 on the same server instead of running 2 seperate servers.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby rishi » 01. February 2007 21:36

How do I tell apache within xampp to use PHP4 one application (folder) and PHP5 for another?
rishi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 01. February 2007 20:37

Postby Wiedmann » 01. February 2007 22:12

How do I tell apache to use PHP4 one application (folder) and PHP5 for
another?
With the AddType directive.

BTW:
Are the CGI binaries included in the XAMPP package?
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby rishi » 01. February 2007 22:50

I apologize for the newbie question. I'm new to XAMPP and a novice apache admin. So, I'm not sure what you mean when you say "Add Type" directive.

I have two applications in separate locations:

- /opt/lampp/app1
- /opt/lampp/app2

app1 runs only with php5
app2 runs only with php4

Since there is a general command to run apache with either php5 or php4 (/opt/lampp/lampp php4 OR /opt/lampp/lampp php5), I don't know how to make apache run php5 for app1 and php4 app2. I assume I need to add "AddType" in httpd.conf file?

Thanks a bunch.
rishi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 01. February 2007 20:37


Return to XAMPP for Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests