Need hel on serval things

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Need hel on serval things

Postby sjoerd » 01. February 2005 18:11

Hi,

I am not new to xampp. Nut i nevert tryed to secure things so no one can access some things. But now i want it to make it public and i want to secure these things:

PHPMYADMIN -> he is asking for username and password but when i just enter root in it en then enter he opens the phpmyadmin. And i have set a paswoord in the config.

The MySQL admin user root has NO password UNSECURE
- how can i give that a password. And another thing. Is it also possible to give every database a new password ? So other people can access one of your database ? I don't want that people can access all databases.

I have installed Xammp new again 2 months ago, do i have to reinstall everything again before chnging stuff ?

Thnx for any help :)
sjoerd
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 01. February 2005 18:03
Location: Den Bosch

Postby Wiedmann » 01. February 2005 18:25

The MySQL admin user root has NO password UNSECURE

This is from the page "XAMPP SECURITY"?

There is a link on this page
XAMPP SECURITY wrote:To fix the problems for mysql, phpmyadmin and the xampp directory simply use
=> "http://localhost/xampp/xamppsecurity.php" <=


or:
http://www.apachefriends.org/en/faq-xam ... #password0

Is it also possible to give every database a new password ?

No. Databases have no password, users have passwords.
--> you can add a new user with access to only one database.
Wiedmann
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 17106
Joined: 01. February 2004 12:38
Location: Stuttgart / Germany

Postby sjoerd » 01. February 2005 23:40

____________________________________
mysqladmin -u root password secret

When i open the mysqladmin it just clows right away.
____________________________________
he MySQL admin user root has NO password UNSECURE is indeed form the XAMMP SECURITY but when i click on that link, it asks for a password, but some how he just don't set that password. I get an 'panel' to login but when i just typ root it also login.

I have also changed this in the config:

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'config';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'root';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = 'secret';

but then i also have to set root and then it logins to
____________________________________

you can add a new user with access to only one database.

How do i do that then ?
____________________________________

Thnx for help
sjoerd
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 01. February 2005 18:03
Location: Den Bosch

Postby sjoerd » 03. February 2005 14:04

no one :( :( :oops:
sjoerd
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 01. February 2005 18:03
Location: Den Bosch


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests

cron