Running a Web Application (EXE) from Apache

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Running a Web Application (EXE) from Apache

Postby kebrite » 22. February 2021 19:16

I am brand new to Apache and XAMPP and was not able to find the solution searching on this site so hopefully someone knows how to solve my problem.

I build a web application in Visual studio and it produces an EXE file that I currently run under IIS - it actually runs very well except that for some unknown reason the site freezes after many hours. As such, I am now looking at moving from an IIS server to an Apache server, though Apache\XAMPP is still being installed on a Windows box (Win 10 or Win Server). SO the million dollar question is how to get this same WebApplication.exe running with Apache. We have installed XAMPP under port 8311 and Apache starts up without errors. We can also get into the XAMPP Admin page so everything works out of the box. I have copied my website directory to "C:\xampp\htdocs\KebriteWebApp" however, when I navigate to that directory in Chrome it just gives me a file list in the browser. Then where I would previous point IIS to start the "KebriteWebApp.exe", the browser displays the file save window when I try to click on th e"exe" file within the browser.

I know I'm doing something wrong and that it may just be a configuration issue, but as I'm brand new to Apache\XAMPP I really need so guidance on how to solve this.

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by kebrite on 22. February 2021 20:05, edited 1 time in total.
kebrite
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 22. February 2021 19:02
XAMPP version: 3.2.4
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Running Windows Application EXE

Postby Altrea » 22. February 2021 19:54

Are you programming ASP.NET C#? Then IIS is the way to go. This is pure Microsoft Universe.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 10727
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Running Windows Application EXE

Postby kebrite » 22. February 2021 20:01

Thanks for the reply Altrea! I seriously would like to just leave it running IIS however, unfortunately my app freezes for no apparent reason with IIS after several hours which I cannot reproduce in my office. So I'm trying to configure a different web server to know if it is IIS or code that is causing the problem. While I try to get Apache working, I am still trying to find a way to workout when and why it freezes up. No application log errors, just the whole browser stops working! Really frustrating for myself and my client.
kebrite
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 22. February 2021 19:02
XAMPP version: 3.2.4
Operating System: Windows 10

Running Web Application (EXE) from Apache

Postby kebrite » 22. February 2021 20:04

Sorry but I think the title should be, running a Web Application (EXE) from Apache
kebrite
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 22. February 2021 19:02
XAMPP version: 3.2.4
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Running Windows Application EXE

Postby Altrea » 22. February 2021 20:13

kebrite wrote:So I'm trying to configure a different web server to know if it is IIS or code that is causing the problem

But that is not easily achievable. IIS is prebuild for ASP.NET C# because all of the software is coming from Microsoft.
For Apache you would need to find an Apache mod_aspdotnet module which is actively maintained and compiled for exactly the Apache version you are currently using and hope that all is running.
In my opinion it is not worth to invest your time and trouble into this.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 10727
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 79 guests