Unable to access to apache & Mysql

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Unable to access to apache & Mysql

Postby SH_GHAM » 23. December 2020 08:20

One last question please.
How do i create username and password to log into mysql?. I watched a video and said enter root for user name. and no password.
it did not work for me. i get an error message- entering to sql with out password is not allowed.
Thx.
SH
SH_GHAM
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 21. December 2020 17:21
XAMPP version: 3.2.4
Operating System: Windows 10 Home version

Re: Unable to access to apache & Mysql

Postby Altrea » 23. December 2020 09:42

SH_GHAM wrote:How do i create username and password to log into mysql?

phpmyadmin, MySQL CLI, ... there are multiple ways to do so.

SH_GHAM wrote:I watched a video and said enter root for user name. and no password.

Which video?

SH_GHAM wrote:it did not work for me. i get an error message- entering to sql with out password is not allowed.

Is this a phpmyadmin error message?
Then you already have changed a few things, like changed the phpmyadmin setting $cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] from config to something else like cookie or http.
You did change the default MariaDB port, Did you tell phpmyadmin to use the new port 3307?
What is the value of phpMyAdmin setting $cfg['Servers'][$i]['AllowNoPassword']?
Did you set a password for user root@localhost?
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11942
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Unable to access to apache & Mysql

Postby SH_GHAM » 23. December 2020 15:39

1- I recall that I renamed the file from phpAdmin.config. php to phpAdmin.config- I thought that was a mistake.

2-I configured php.ini file:

# The following options will be passed to all MySQL clients
[client]
# password = your_password
port=3307
socket="C:/xampp/mysql/mysql.sock"


# Here follows entries for some specific programs

# The MySQL server
default-character-set=utf8mb4
[mysqld]
port=3307
socket="C:/xampp/mysql/mysql.sock"
basedir="C:/xampp/mysql"

And in config.inc:

/* Bind to the localhost ipv4 address and tcp */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = '127.0.0.1:3307';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'tcp';


Below is what phpAdmin looks like now.
/*
* First server
*/
$i++;

/* Authentication type and info */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'config';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'root';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = '';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysqli';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['AllowNoPassword'] = true;
$cfg['Lang'] = '';

/* Bind to the localhost ipv4 address and tcp */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = '127.0.0.1:3307';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'tcp';

/* User for advanced features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = '';

/* Advanced phpMyAdmin features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pmadb'] = 'phpmyadmin';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['bookmarktable'] = 'pma__bookmark';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['relation'] = 'pma__relation';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_info'] = 'pma__table_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_coords'] = 'pma__table_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pdf_pages'] = 'pma__pdf_pages';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['column_info'] = 'pma__column_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['history'] = 'pma__history';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['designer_coords'] = 'pma__designer_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['tracking'] = 'pma__tracking';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['userconfig'] = 'pma__userconfig';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['recent'] = 'pma__recent';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_uiprefs'] = 'pma__table_uiprefs';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['users'] = 'pma__users';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['usergroups'] = 'pma__usergroups';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['navigationhiding'] = 'pma__navigationhiding';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['savedsearches'] = 'pma__savedsearches';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['central_columns'] = 'pma__central_columns';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['designer_settings'] = 'pma__designer_settings';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['export_templates'] = 'pma__export_templates';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['favorite'] = 'pma__favorite';

/*
* End of servers configuration
*/


Thx.
SH
SH_GHAM
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 21. December 2020 17:21
XAMPP version: 3.2.4
Operating System: Windows 10 Home version

Re: Unable to access to apache & Mysql

Postby SH_GHAM » 24. December 2020 02:33

Hi,
I think I fixed it.

1- I renamed the file back to confi.inc.php

2- Added 3307 to this code:
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = '127.0.0.1:3307';

The only thing is that now when I click Mysql Admin, it takes me straight to control panel-not to the log in screen though.

Also I don't if this is something that needs to be fixed- it is in red font:


Database server

Server: 127.0.0.1:3307 via TCP/IP
Server type: MariaDB
Server connection:SSL is not being used Documentation ??
Server version: 10.4.17-MariaDB - mariadb.org binary distribution
Protocol version: 10
User: root@localhost
Server charset: UTF-8 Unicode (utf8mb4)

Thanks for your help.
SH
SH_GHAM
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 21. December 2020 17:21
XAMPP version: 3.2.4
Operating System: Windows 10 Home version

Re: Unable to access to apache & Mysql

Postby Altrea » 24. December 2020 03:02

SH_GHAM wrote:The only thing is that now when I click Mysql Admin, it takes me straight to control panel-not to the log in screen though.

Search $cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'config';
Replace the word config with cookie

BTW there is also a setting $cfg['Servers'][$i]['port']
No need to add the port to the host setting
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11942
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Unable to access to apache & Mysql

Postby SH_GHAM » 24. December 2020 03:58

Now I am getting this message in Mysql inside a pink rectangle.

The secret passphrase in configuration (blowfish_secret) is too short.

Also what about this line:
Server connection:SSL is not being used Documentation

Thx.
SH
SH_GHAM
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 21. December 2020 17:21
XAMPP version: 3.2.4
Operating System: Windows 10 Home version

Re: Unable to access to apache & Mysql

Postby Altrea » 24. December 2020 04:05

SH_GHAM wrote:Now I am getting this message in Mysql inside a pink rectangle.

The secret passphrase in configuration (blowfish_secret) is too short.

Search for the line $cfg['blowfish_secret'] = 'xampp'; /* YOU SHOULD CHANGE THIS FOR A MORE SECURE COOKIE AUTH! */
Replace the word xampp with a 32 character long randomized alpha numeric (special characters allowed) string.

SH_GHAM wrote:Also what about this line:
Server connection:SSL is not being used Documentation

You can ignore this for a local test environment.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11942
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Unable to access to apache & Mysql

Postby SH_GHAM » 24. December 2020 04:15

Where is this line located?. I don't find in confi.inc.php.
Thx
SH
SH_GHAM
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 21. December 2020 17:21
XAMPP version: 3.2.4
Operating System: Windows 10 Home version

Re: Unable to access to apache & Mysql

Postby SH_GHAM » 24. December 2020 04:19

Sorry I just found it.
SH_GHAM
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 21. December 2020 17:21
XAMPP version: 3.2.4
Operating System: Windows 10 Home version

Re: Unable to access to apache & Mysql

Postby SH_GHAM » 24. December 2020 04:31

Atrea,
I can not thank you enough. finally I think I got myself an SQL that is working on my desktop.
Now I am going to do the same thing to my laptop.
I like to use IIS10. Is there anyway that I can connect Mysql to IIS10?.
Thanks again for all your help
SH
SH_GHAM
 
Posts: 30
Joined: 21. December 2020 17:21
XAMPP version: 3.2.4
Operating System: Windows 10 Home version

Re: Unable to access to apache & Mysql

Postby Altrea » 24. December 2020 05:24

Sure, MariaDB is loosly coupled and can be combined with IIS instead of Apache.
You would need to install PHP and phpmyadmin to IIS, but it is possible for sure.
And way out of scope of this support board here :D
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11942
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 144 guests