apache-stop.bat not working

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

apache-stop.bat not working

Postby aducom » 25. June 2019 20:39

I have the portables xampp installed. In my application I start and stop apache by spawning the process. Currently I moved from 32 to 64 bits and the application does not work.
I tried the bat files that in essense do the same, apache-start.bat to start the server, apache-stop to stop the server. Only apache-stop shows an error message that the process could not be found.
As it is using pv.exe to list the processes I noticed that when you use apache-start that the httpd process is NOT in the list, but the server does work.
Am I doing something wrong, is it expected behaviour in 64 bit or is it a bug?
Last edited by aducom on 25. June 2019 20:51, edited 1 time in total.
aducom
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 22. June 2019 14:13
XAMPP version: latest
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: apache-stop.bat not working

Postby Nobbie » 25. June 2019 20:44

What is "wampp"??
Nobbie
 
Posts: 10984
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: apache-stop.bat not working

Postby aducom » 25. June 2019 20:51

Sorry, I'm using apache from the xampp package. I noticed that after apache-start can be found in the task manager under details, but under the user account, not system. Not sure if that has anything to do with the issue. pv.exe is not showing the httpd process.
aducom
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 22. June 2019 14:13
XAMPP version: latest
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: apache-stop.bat not working

Postby aducom » 25. June 2019 21:29

In addition, starting and stopping mysql has the same issue. if you use mysql_start.bat then pv.exe will not find the process.
aducom
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 22. June 2019 14:13
XAMPP version: latest
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: apache-stop.bat not working [work-around / fixed for me]

Postby aducom » 26. June 2019 19:42

Ok, apparently the pv.exe does not show 64 bit processes. I think because there is no updated version of pv. I tested the issue on a different pc with same results.
I created an application of my own that does work, so I have fixed my issue. If there is need for sharing then let me know.
aducom
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 22. June 2019 14:13
XAMPP version: latest
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: apache-stop.bat not working [work-around / fixed for me]

Postby Nobbie » 26. June 2019 20:00

aducom wrote:If there is need for sharing then let me know.


Not for me. I dont use Windows anymore since a couple of years and i am very (very!) happy with that decision. Linux is so much better than Windows, there are no words to explain it. Simply do it.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 10984
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: apache-stop.bat not working

Postby aducom » 27. June 2019 15:30

Ehhhh, to me an unexpected reaction within a Windows forum. Not very helpful to say the least.
aducom
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 22. June 2019 14:13
XAMPP version: latest
Operating System: Windows 10


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: al4nzonealor, kovacsszandra and 77 guests