APIkey to GET data from an external site

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

APIkey to GET data from an external site

Postby markiecarter » 11. October 2017 09:03

Hi everyone,
I am using XXAMP and MySQL/PHP to develop a football scores database and related tool. This is in localhost at the moment, but I would like at some future point to move the db and php scripts to be available on the web.
I would like to get data coming in from an API at apifootball.com.
I have followed the documentation on their site and used the same PHP code with the APIkey. However, I cannot see the data, I just get a blank array returned each time.
I wondered whether there was a reason why I cannot use an API such as this in XXAMP?
I have asked the api-football people, but not much support there.
(I am fairly new to all this, so not as technical as I should be, so apologies if I have used the incorrect terminology in the above description - hopefully you will know what I mean!)
Thanks
Mark
markiecarter

Operating System: Windows XP SP3

Re: APIkey to GET data from an external site

Postby Nobbie » 11. October 2017 11:11

markiecarter wrote:I wondered whether there was a reason why I cannot use an API such as this in XXAMP?

There is no reason. Xampp is only a distribution, a collection of web tools. All these tools (Apache, MySQL/MariaDB, PHP etc.) are not developed by Xampp (i.e. Bitnami), but only collected, preconfigured and packed with an installer.