Mercury won't start

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Mercury won't start

Postby NorthLake » 26. May 2017 21:02

I'm having a serious problem with Mercury. While trying to set up Mercury to connect to the outside world (I'm still new to all the server stuff) I had to restart mercury. After shutting down Mercury via the Xampp control panel, it wouldn't start again. Well, it does actually start, but the admin button does nothing, the icon isn't showing on the taskbar and the server itself isn't responding (meaning I couldn't get or send e-mails). I can see the proces in task manager, but I can't do anything with it accept kill it from task manager or stop the service from xampp. There are no logs about any kind of error in C:\xampp\MercuryMail\LOGS, and I don't know where to look for inside of event viewer. Has anybody got a solution to this, or do I have to reinstall xampp?
P.S. I don't have any backups
NorthLake

XAMPP version: 3.2.2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Mercury won't start

Postby Nobbie » 28. May 2017 10:18

Its not worth to fix that problem (if you can fix it - nobody knows), because you wont be able to send e-mails from your private computer anyway. The problem is, that all major mail providers (like GMX etc.) are blocking mails from private servers (they analyze your IP). All your e-mails will go into the trashbox and none of them will reach somebody. Therefore i cannot see any use in running a Mercury Mailserver on a private PC, and unfortunately it is a very sophisticated task to setup a mailserver, even if you fix your current problem, you might fail to setup Mercury correctly.

Thats all in vain, spend your time for something different.
Nobbie

Postby NorthLake » 28. May 2017 13:53