Apache can't start

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Apache can't start

Postby alexchun88 » 26. March 2017 12:58

Hi everyone.

I'm new at this, so any help is MUCH, MUCH appreciated!

I did try to run XAMPP as an admin.

Thanks in advance!!!

Console Log:
Code: Select all
8:04:01 AM  [main]    Initializing Control Panel
8:04:01 AM  [main]    Windows Version:  Home  64-bit
8:04:01 AM  [main]    XAMPP Version: 5.6.30
8:04:01 AM  [main]    Control Panel Version: 3.2.2  [ Compiled: Nov 12th 2015 ]
8:04:01 AM  [main]    Running with Administrator rights - good!
8:04:01 AM  [main]    XAMPP Installation Directory: "c:\xampp\"
8:04:01 AM  [main]    Checking for prerequisites
8:04:02 AM  [main]    All prerequisites found
8:04:02 AM  [main]    Initializing Modules
8:04:02 AM  [mysql]    XAMPP MySQL is already running on port 3306
8:04:02 AM  [main]    Starting Check-Timer
8:04:02 AM  [main]    Control Panel Ready
8:04:04 AM  [Apache]    Attempting to start Apache app...
8:04:04 AM  [Apache]    Status change detected: running
8:04:08 AM  [Apache]    Status change detected: stopped
8:04:08 AM  [Apache]    Error: Apache shutdown unexpectedly.
8:04:08 AM  [Apache]    This may be due to a blocked port, missing dependencies,
8:04:08 AM  [Apache]    improper privileges, a crash, or a shutdown by another method.
8:04:08 AM  [Apache]    Press the Logs button to view error logs and check
8:04:08 AM  [Apache]    the Windows Event Viewer for more clues
8:04:08 AM  [Apache]    If you need more help, copy and post this
8:04:08 AM  [Apache]    entire log window on the forums


Apache error log:
Code: Select all
[Sun Mar 26 08:04:05.058749 2017] [ssl:warn] [pid 16064:tid 528] AH01909: www.example.com:443:0 server certificate does NOT include an ID which matches the server name
[Sun Mar 26 08:04:05.261884 2017] [ssl:warn] [pid 16064:tid 528] AH01909: www.example.com:443:0 server certificate does NOT include an ID which matches the server name
[Sun Mar 26 08:04:05.308761 2017] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 16064:tid 528] AH00455: Apache/2.4.25 (Win32) OpenSSL/1.0.2j PHP/5.6.30 configured -- resuming normal operations
[Sun Mar 26 08:04:05.308761 2017] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 16064:tid 528] AH00456: Apache Lounge VC11 Server built: Dec 20 2016 13:02:04
[Sun Mar 26 08:04:05.308761 2017] [core:notice] [pid 16064:tid 528] AH00094: Command line: 'c:\\xampp\\apache\\bin\\httpd.exe -d C:/xampp/apache'
[Sun Mar 26 08:04:06.840095 2017] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 16064:tid 528] AH00418: Parent: Created child process 5432
[Sun Mar 26 08:04:07.730815 2017] [ssl:warn] [pid 5432:tid 492] AH01909: www.example.com:443:0 server certificate does NOT include an ID which matches the server name
[Sun Mar 26 08:04:07.887074 2017] [ssl:warn] [pid 5432:tid 492] AH01909: www.example.com:443:0 server certificate does NOT include an ID which matches the server name
[Sun Mar 26 08:04:07.933952 2017] [mpm_winnt:crit] [pid 5432:tid 492] (OS 109)The pipe has been ended.  : AH00404: Child: Unable to read socket data from parent
[Sun Mar 26 08:04:07.933952 2017] [mpm_winnt:crit] [pid 16064:tid 528] AH00427: Parent: child process 5432 exited with status 3 -- Aborting.
alexchun88
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16. March 2017 18:36
XAMPP version: 3.2.2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Apache can't start

Postby Nobbie » 26. March 2017 13:03

According to your previous posting, it looks as if MySQL is already started. Possibly Apache is also started on startup and you might try to run it twice (what does not work). Start your browser and enter http://localhost (or simply click on this link), what happens?
Nobbie
 
Posts: 9423
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Apache can't start

Postby Altrea » 26. March 2017 16:34

Did you try to change any Apache ports?
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8728
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Apache can't start

Postby alexchun88 » 28. March 2017 13:42

Thanks for your quick reply! I truly appreciate!

http://localhost gives me an error page (HTTP 404)

How would I change Apache ports? The ports were previously used by Skype and I solved this problem by reading the posts on this forum (thanks a lot by the way!).
I did not try to change Apache ports. When I click on the "Config" button, then click on "Service and Port Settings", they are currently 80 for the Main port and 443 for the SSL port and Service Name is Apache2.4
I don't know if that makes sense lol.

Should I change the ports? or reinstall XAMPP maybe?

Thanks!
alexchun88
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16. March 2017 18:36
XAMPP version: 3.2.2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Apache can't start

Postby Nobbie » 28. March 2017 14:54

alexchun88 wrote: http://localhost gives me an error page (HTTP 404)


Aha, very interesting! That actually means that there IS running any Webserver (HTTP Error is a response of a running webserver), if there were no server, you would have received a totally different error. Can you please show us the complete(!) contents of this 404 error? There *should* be some more informations on that screen than only 404.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 9423
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Apache can't start

Postby alexchun88 » 29. March 2017 13:22

Hi,

Here is a screenshot of the error page on Internet Explorer (background window) and Google Chrome (Foreground window). It doesn't say much, I'm afraid.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4bSf_sqGob_Zmc1a1JlSkoteG8

Any other ideas?

Thanks!
alexchun88
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16. March 2017 18:36
XAMPP version: 3.2.2
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Apache can't start

Postby Nobbie » 29. March 2017 16:12

It looks as if Microsoft is doing their own thing, that screen is extremely weird. Can you please use a normal browser instead of that Microsoft Trash thing, any browser like Firefox, Opera, Chrome or whatever you want, please NO Microsloth Trash.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 9423
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Apache can't start

Postby alexchun88 » 30. March 2017 01:06

Hi,

Here is the screenshot with Firefox. It shows a blank page.

With Google Chrome (the small window on the right) , it says that "This localhost page can’t be found"

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B4bSf_sqGob_MEVBd1VlNUloM0k

Thanks for your help!
alexchun88
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16. March 2017 18:36
XAMPP version: 3.2.2
Operating System: Windows 10


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests

cron