Ports Not Available

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Ports Not Available

Postby DoctorT » 10. January 2017 17:11

Hi!

I am a newbie. I installed XAMPP 3.2.2 under Windows 7 Pro. After installation, the program detected that Ports 0 and 443 are being used by Skype.

What do I do?

Thank you!

Dr. T
DoctorT
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 10. January 2017 16:51
XAMPP version: 3.2.2
Operating System: Windows 7 Pro

Re: Ports Not Available

Postby Altrea » 10. January 2017 18:06

Hi,

DoctorT wrote:What do I do?

Umm... Grab your pc and make someone a present who is able to use it?
Seriously... Is Skype a webserver? No!
So why do you think should Skype still use webserver specific ports?

best wishes,
Altrea
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8845
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Ports Not Available

Postby DoctorT » 10. January 2017 18:13

Dear Altrea,

Thank you for your reply.

The XAMPP 3.2.2 Control Panel showed that there were 2 errors. It showed that Ports 80 and 443 were being used by Skype.

Dr. T
DoctorT
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 10. January 2017 16:51
XAMPP version: 3.2.2
Operating System: Windows 7 Pro

Re: Ports Not Available

Postby Altrea » 10. January 2017 18:26

Yes, the question is: Do you think that Skype should be allowed to use this ports?
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8845
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Ports Not Available

Postby DoctorT » 10. January 2017 20:04

Dear Altrea,

I have no clue what ports Skype should be allowed to use. When I stopped running Skype, the server worked.

Dr. T
DoctorT
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 10. January 2017 16:51
XAMPP version: 3.2.2
Operating System: Windows 7 Pro

Re: Ports Not Available

Postby Nobbie » 10. January 2017 20:11

You dont need to stop Skype, even if this is not a Skype forum, i know that you can change the ports in Skype (see Options Menu), not to use 80 / 443. So easy! After then you can run Skype and Xampp as well.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 9562
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests