XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby TooLoose » 14. October 2016 21:24

I installed XAMPP following the instructions from a YouTube video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zZ6NQRUYR2E.
As I tried to install, I was taken to a Bitnami site for downloading WordPress also (my goal) but I backed out of that when it asked me to select a folder because I hadn't installed XAMPP yet. I finished the XAMPP installation and when I typed "localhost" in my browser, it took me to a page that looks similar to the Apache Friendly site. I will attach a jpg of the screen.

This did not occur in the instructional video I watched. When he typed 'localhost,' he was redirected to localhost/xampp/splash.php.

How do I get to there? I want to add a password.

Thanks

Windows Pro 7
TooLoose
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 12. October 2016 13:15
XAMPP version: v5.6.24
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby Altrea » 14. October 2016 21:37

Hi,

The splash page is removed for more than a year now.
If you want to change your password, do this the recommend way:
[Q&A] Setting MySQL root password

best wishes,
Altrea
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby TooLoose » 14. October 2016 22:45

Thanks. Easy enough. By setting the password for SQL, is that the same as setting a root password?

About an hour after installing XAMPP, my computer dropped off the wi-fi network. Just reconnecting wasn't the solution. I had to run troubleshoot and it reset adapter settings (I think.) I have never had this issue before. Could it be due to the localhost?
TooLoose
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 12. October 2016 13:15
XAMPP version: v5.6.24
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby Nobbie » 15. October 2016 13:17

TooLoose wrote:By setting the password for SQL, is that the same as setting a root password?


A bit strange question. There is no "a root password". because root is not a reserved word. Anyway, in many environments, which have a rights management and a user management, people tend to create users which are granted all rights and they give special names to these users. One very well known Username is "admin" (it is very often used for routers), another very well known Username is "root". Mostly, there is no need to call these Users root or admin, people simply are used to do so.

Users have passwords and you may set or change the passwords for each user. If the Users name is "root", you call the password "a root password"?? It is not "a root password", it is a password as each password, but it is the password of the User which is called root. This User mostly is granted all rights, but you also might assign less rights and/or create a totally different User as "superuser" (this is how Users are called, which may access everything).

MySQL comes with its own User management. This User management (i.e. the Usernames and Passwords) does not have any relation to the users of your Operating System (Windows or Linux or OSX). The Operating System also manages Users, but even if the Usernames may be the same as in MySQL, these Users are not the same. The context is completely different.

Finally: MySQL Programmers also created one default User and granted all rights to that User, which is pre-installed when you install a new MySQL Release, and this User is also called "root". Exactly the same name as for Linux superuser. But for example, root is not a known Username in Windows Environments, Microsoft decided to call it "Administrator". What you did now, you changed the password of the MySQL User "root". Nothing more. Of course you may create another MySQL User and grant all rights to this User (i did so, because i do not like to use "root" as Username) and finally you may delete User root (beware, dont delete root before you created another fully equipped user, this would screw up your MySQL installation).

TooLoose wrote:About an hour after installing XAMPP, my computer dropped off the wi-fi network. Just reconnecting wasn't the solution. I had to run troubleshoot and it reset adapter settings (I think.) I have never had this issue before. Could it be due to the localhost?


I have never heard about that. Maybe or not. There is no obvious reason for that.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8775
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby TooLoose » 15. October 2016 14:52

Thank you for the in-depth response. I know nothing about servers and really it's not something I would have approached if I didn't have need of installing one on my computer so I can explore building a WordPress website. I wish I had time and I'd like to learn more about PHP, but due to my constraints on time, I am in need of a new website. I know some HTML and CSS.

As for a 'root' password, I watched a few videos and perhaps misunderstood the meaning of his password, which was 'root.'

Again, I do appreciate you taking the time to explain this to me. This is all so new to me.
TooLoose
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 12. October 2016 13:15
XAMPP version: v5.6.24
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby Nobbie » 15. October 2016 15:40

TooLoose wrote:I know nothing about servers


"Servers" is only a very wide spreaded name for a special kind of programs (a software). These programs are a kind of service, which are running all the time on a certain PC (or any other hardware) and deliver (and receive) data to/from so called "clients" (also simply a piece of software, running on another PC) if they are requested to do so. Any kind of data, for example Emails, or WhatsApp Messages or Data of an SQL Database. It is always the same, there is a client (for example your WhatsApp App on your smartphone) which requests the messages (and also sends the messages) from a WhatsApp Server. You cannot see that WhatsApp Server, it works "remotely", but without that Server WhatsApp would not work. And your Smartphone is the client, or more precisely. not your smartphone, but the WhatsApp App on your smartphone is the client.

Very often, "Servers" know kind of Users, but not each software which deals with users is a server. Best known example: You Windows Operating knows Users, you have to login yourself on startup. This is needed in order to qualify which data my be accessed by you and which data may not be accessed. Windows is NOT a server, it is an operating system. Same for Linux or for OSX. This all has nothing to do with servers. Anyway, many servers also know Users, so you see, servers and users are different things in the world of computers and your question (the root password) was about Users, not about Servers.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8775
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby TooLoose » 16. October 2016 21:23

I ran into a problem entering a password for MySQL, following the instructions on the instructions Altrea supplied.

See the attached jpg of the command screen after I entered the password as per instructed. OR so I thought. As you can see, I did not get the same results after entering the password. Not this: Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.00 sec).

Oops...looks like I can't attach a file? The command line after I entered the password said: Query OK, 0 rows affected (2.89 sec.) I am unfamiliar with command line. After adding the line to enter a password, I hit ENTER. Was there something else I should have entered?

So when I tried to set a php password via http://localhost/myphpadmin/, I got the error msg seen on the second jpg. "MySQL said: cannot connect invalid settings."

How do I straighten this out?

Thanks.
TooLoose
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 12. October 2016 13:15
XAMPP version: v5.6.24
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby Nobbie » 16. October 2016 21:33

Go into the internet and go for a webhoster. Webspace begins at 1$ per month, everything is pre-installed. Without any knowledge, it is a hard job to configure a webserver etc.

I definately recommend to use fully featured webspace. Just my 2 cents.
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8775
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby TooLoose » 16. October 2016 23:46

No thanks (on your suggestion for a web host.)

Where could the problem be? My computer? The installation? Would uninstalling XAMPP and starting over be a strategy? are there diagnostic tools that would reveal the issue?
TooLoose
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 12. October 2016 13:15
XAMPP version: v5.6.24
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby Altrea » 17. October 2016 00:24

TooLoose wrote:I did not get the same results after entering the password. Not this: Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.00 sec).


TooLoose wrote:The command line after I entered the password said: Query OK, 0 rows affected (2.89 sec.)

So the only difference to the guide is the time?
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby TooLoose » 17. October 2016 00:42

Yes.

If I can upload a jpg, i snapped a shot of the command screen. I don't know if this could be an issue, but I installed WinAMP a few days ago and it totally messed up my computer. It also affected a second computer on my wi-fi network. I had issues with my photo editing program and on that second computer (without WinAMP installed) it locked folders and my Windows Photo Upload tool is still messed up. This is a new laptop and if WinAMP reconfigured settings, can I fix Windows from the recovery program on my HD?
TooLoose
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 12. October 2016 13:15
XAMPP version: v5.6.24
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby TooLoose » 18. October 2016 16:54

Hello. I still need help here. I have a friend who is IT and we checked my default network settings via ip config and also checked the adapter settings to make sure my computer is set to default. It is. What's the next step in getting XAMPP running properly? I need to get going with WordPress.

Thanks.
TooLoose
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 12. October 2016 13:15
XAMPP version: v5.6.24
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby Altrea » 18. October 2016 18:38

If the only difference between your response and the one in the tutorial is the processed time, the command have been successfully processed.
Have you ever tried to follow the guide up to the end (step 2)?

If that is not successful than commonly you have done something wrong (like a typo in that command) to screw up your root password.
The only ways to get a working mysql root user again would be to reset the root password or to delete xampp completely and start from scratch.

btw: changing the root password is not really needed on a local test or development environment. It will in no way make your xampp installation more secure.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8294
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby TooLoose » 20. October 2016 08:11

I was very careful in copying the code to add a password. I went over it twice before hitting enter.

If I don't really need a password to work on it locally, I'll install WordPress and see if it works properly. I'll let you know if it works.

I spoke with my web host people and they want S100 (U.S.) to transfer my URL to the WordPress site. Does that seem a bit steep for that procedure?

Would you recommend that I uninstall XAMPP and reinstall it? I was looking over the instructions for installing WordPress via Bitnami, and it said:

"Bitnami for XAMPP modules require the MySQL root password to create the application databases. The default XAMPP password for the MySQL root account is an empty string. If you have changed this password, you will be prompted for it during the module installation process."

Or before I do that, can I retry entering the password in the Shell?

Again, thanks for your help.
TooLoose
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 12. October 2016 13:15
XAMPP version: v5.6.24
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: XAMPP Installed - Want to Go to \splash.php

Postby TooLoose » 20. October 2016 19:23

I tired resetting the password as per the instructions in this forum, and I got this error msg:

ERROR 1045 (28000) : Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: N

I can't read past the "N." The cmd screen seems fixed at that width. I've tried dragging it further and also open to full page but it ends right at the final 'N.'

I found a video on youtube that addresses this issue and I want to check with someone who knows if this solves my problem.

Here is what is in my config.inc and if I located the correct text, I think it says "Allow No Password." Is there something in this that I can change to fix the problem?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1eVfJ_DRONQ

The instructions: Locate the XAMPP > phpMyAdmin > config.inc

Here is what I found copied to Notepad:

<?php
/*
* This is needed for cookie based authentication to encrypt password in
* cookie
*/
$cfg['blowfish_secret'] = 'xampp'; /* YOU SHOULD CHANGE THIS FOR A MORE SECURE COOKIE AUTH! */

/*
* Servers configuration
*/
$i = 0;

/*
* First server
*/
$i++;

/* Authentication type and info */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'config';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'root';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = '';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysqli';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['Igotzer23'] = true;
$cfg['Lang'] = '';

/* Bind to the localhost ipv4 address and tcp */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = '127.0.0.1';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'tcp';

/* User for advanced features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = '';

/* Advanced phpMyAdmin features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pmadb'] = 'phpmyadmin';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['bookmarktable'] = 'pma__bookmark';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['relation'] = 'pma__relation';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_info'] = 'pma__table_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_coords'] = 'pma__table_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pdf_pages'] = 'pma__pdf_pages';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['column_info'] = 'pma__column_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['history'] = 'pma__history';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['designer_coords'] = 'pma__designer_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['tracking'] = 'pma__tracking';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['userconfig'] = 'pma__userconfig';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['recent'] = 'pma__recent';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_uiprefs'] = 'pma__table_uiprefs';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['users'] = 'pma__users';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['usergroups'] = 'pma__usergroups';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['navigationhiding'] = 'pma__navigationhiding';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['savedsearches'] = 'pma__savedsearches';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['central_columns'] = 'pma__central_columns';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['designer_settings'] = 'pma__designer_settings';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['export_templates'] = 'pma__export_templates';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['favorite'] = 'pma__favorite';

/*
* End of servers configuration
*/

?>


I changed one line, adding a password here: $cfg['Servers'][$i]['NewPassword'] = true;

The video indicated to enter config.inc.php and I didn't find that but made my change in config.inc. I have not tried adding a password to php.
Last edited by TooLoose on 20. October 2016 20:06, edited 2 times in total.
TooLoose
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 12. October 2016 13:15
XAMPP version: v5.6.24
Operating System: Windows 7

Next

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests