Page 1 of 1

Import database fails

PostPosted: 31. March 2016 00:56
by samstamport
This is my first experience with XAMPP. I just installed it on my Win 7 64-bit system.

When I tried importing my backup database (I was previously using Acquia Dev Desktop) it fails with "You probably tried to upload a file that is too large. Please refer to documentation for a workaround for this limit." I followed the instructions in the documentation, but it didn't help. I found "PHP Warning: POST Content-Length of 17863064 bytes exceeds the limit of 8388608 bytes in Unknown on line 0, referer: http://localhost/phpmyadmin/db_import.php?db=bitnami_drupal7&token=de4577cb0f9908fb4fbbfcb8fa250c06" and "PHP Warning: POST Content-Length of 17862998 bytes exceeds the limit of 8388608 bytes in Unknown on line 0, referer: http://localhost/phpmyadmin/server_import.php?db=&token=de4577cb0f9908fb4fbbfcb8fa250c06" in the Apache error log.

Help would be appreciated.

Re: Import database fails

PostPosted: 31. March 2016 09:19
by Altrea
samstamport wrote:I found "PHP Warning: POST Content-Length of 17863064 bytes exceeds the limit of 8388608 bytes in Unknown on line 0, referer: http://localhost/phpmyadmin/db_import.p ... b8fa250c06" and "PHP Warning: POST Content-Length of 17862998 bytes exceeds the limit of 8388608 bytes in Unknown on line 0, referer: http://localhost/phpmyadmin/server_impo ... b8fa250c06" in the Apache error log.

https://www.google.de/webhp?sourceid=ch ... 8608+bytes

Re: Import database fails

PostPosted: 31. March 2016 14:07
by samstamport
I don't know what "We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!" means.

Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

Re: Import database fails

PostPosted: 31. March 2016 17:45
by JJ_Tagy
He didn't write that to you, that is part of his signature. What happened at the Google link?

Re: Import database fails

PostPosted: 31. March 2016 23:05
by samstamport
The Google link was not in English, therefore it was of no help.

The folks at OSTraining suggested the following changes which I implemented. None worked. I hope there's someone here who can help me solve this problem.

Php.ini in C:\xampp\php
Changed post_max_size=8M to 128M
max_execution_time = 60 to 500
upload_max_filesize=2M to 128M

If the upload_max_filesize is larger than post_max_size, you must increase post_max_size so that it is bigger than upload_max_size.

If the value of post_max_size is larger than memory_limit, you must increase memory_limit so that it is larger than post_max_size.

C:\xampp\mysql\my.ini
Changed innodb_lock_wait_timeout = 50 to 10000

Re: Import database fails

PostPosted: 31. March 2016 23:22
by Altrea
samstamport wrote:The Google link was not in English, therefore it was of no help.

I told you just the keywords to use.
I can't believe that you need this type of guidance, but:
Open the search engine of your choice in your preferred language, paste in these keywords and you will find many answers where to change which settings.

Re: Import database fails

PostPosted: 01. April 2016 00:03
by samstamport
OK.

Keywords I entered were POST Content-Length of exceeds the limit of 8388608 bytes. I will work on finding something in the links returned.

I know it's easy to use shorthand notation, but please do not assume that everyone knows how to interpret it.

Thanks

Re: Import database fails

PostPosted: 01. April 2016 00:11
by Altrea
samstamport wrote:I know it's easy to use shorthand notation, but please do not assume that everyone knows how to interpret it.

But i can assume that you know how to use a search engine.
Even it was the german section of that search engine many of the links were in english.
And the pages which aren't in english can get translated to english by for example google translator.

Re: Import database fails

PostPosted: 01. April 2016 00:18
by samstamport
OK.

It's just that there is so very, very much to learn about Drupal. This represented still another obstacle to overcome as I claw my way through learning this stuff. AND, it's not just having to learn Drupal. One apparently also has to learn some php, CSS, Linux, Drush, etc. The list seems to be endless.

I've been working on this project a year now. Each time I think I've mastered something another thing breaks and I have to spend days or weeks trying to get it fixed. Drupal seems very fragile.

I used Acquia Dev Desktop, but ran into problems getting Drush to work. I've spent the last few days ridding my Win 7 computer of everything related to Drupal. I had hoped that XAMPP would be easier and less painful. So far it is not.

Re: Import database fails

PostPosted: 01. April 2016 00:31
by Altrea
Welcome to the world of webdevelopment :lol:
XAMPP makes it very easy to get up and running with a full webserver development stack, but that makes some people think that all of that stuff is easy and everybody can do this with nearly no knowledge. As you realize now, this is not the case. The components are highly flexible and customable. There are billions of possible combinations to configure these components and XAMPP cannot teach you how to solve all configuration problems you will get.

You will find more stumbling block on your way, but most of them can get solved if you feed the search engine with the right words.

Re: Import database fails

PostPosted: 01. April 2016 10:55
by Nobbie
samstamport wrote:I had hoped that XAMPP would be easier and less painful. So far it is not.


Of course not. Xampp is a sophisticated webserver package and usually you need an well educated Administrator with lots of IT skills in order to run a webserver. The goal of Xampp is an easy installation, but running and administrating is still quite difficult.

Re: Import database fails

PostPosted: 01. April 2016 14:21
by samstamport
Thanks so much for the perspective. I actually hold a couple of degrees in Computer Science and have been programming since 1970 (way back in the punch card days!). Given the years I've been programming it is quite frustrating to dive into web development to find that it is significantly more complex than I expected.

I switched to XAMPP from Acquia Dev Desktop because I couldn't get Drush to work for migrating from dev to prod. Are there issues with Drush & XAMPP that I need to know about?

Are there folks on this forum who are experienced with running XAMPP on Windows? From working with Drupal the last year it seems that there are very few experts out there on the web helping folks like me who use Windows.

My learning has been piecemeal thus far. Maybe there's a better way to learn all I need to know about web servers & Drupal?

Re: Import database fails

PostPosted: 01. April 2016 14:40
by Altrea
samstamport wrote:Are there issues with Drush & XAMPP that I need to know about?

Drush is a command line interface, so it might be a problem that XAMPP don't set any PATH variable, like described here:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2526 ... ds-working

samstamport wrote:Are there folks on this forum who are experienced with running XAMPP on Windows?

Ive been installing, running and maintaining XAMPP on Windows for 11 years now.
But if i can help you depends on the questions you have. For example i am not experienced in using Drupal.