Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby jay1234 » 12. February 2016 18:35

Hi All,

Im having trouble to share my localhost/websitename for my bussines.

The story is as next:
ive installed xampp and made an website with confidential information. This is the reason why i installed it on our local webserver. But if other pc's type in their adress: localhost/websitename, they cant reach the content. I have contact a specialist and he said i needed open port 80 and sat it do listening in the system...

But now comes the problem: i have no clue how i need to open this or install this. I think its server confugiration....

Can someone plsss help me out to get this posbile to share this intern....

Thnx in advance!
jay1234
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12. February 2016 18:30
Operating System: Windows and OSX

Re: Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby JJ_Tagy » 12. February 2016 20:18

This is beyond the scope of this board. I recommend you pay for an IT guy/section especially if you have no idea what you are doing. Doing this on your own and without proper configuration only opens yourself up for security issues.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby jay1234 » 12. February 2016 21:53

JJ_Tagy wrote:This is beyond the scope of this board. I recommend you pay for an IT guy/section especially if you have no idea what you are doing. Doing this on your own and without proper configuration only opens yourself up for security issues.


Ah thnx! but i already have a team of like.... 10 man (IT guys) but they just not know how to do it... (lol.....) Yes i am ashamed of it to.

But beside that the guy who knows hows to solve this, really thinks the 10 IT guys can and need sovle this.... for now i forwarded it from my laptop at my local IP.... but in conclusion its still accesable from everywere... not a solution for now..

Work in progress and i would like it to solve it by myself i really like doing this IT stuff.
jay1234
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12. February 2016 18:30
Operating System: Windows and OSX

Re: Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby Nobbie » 13. February 2016 11:38

jay1234 wrote:But if other pc's type in their adress: localhost/websitename


Of course not, as "localhost" is a special hostname which always yields to the same PC where the client (browser) is running. Instead of "localhost" simply enter the LAN IP of your webserver: http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/websitename where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx maybe something like 192.168.1.23
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8761
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby jay1234 » 15. February 2016 10:57

Nobbie wrote:
jay1234 wrote:But if other pc's type in their adress: localhost/websitename


Of course not, as "localhost" is a special hostname which always yields to the same PC where the client (browser) is running. Instead of "localhost" simply enter the LAN IP of your webserver: http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/websitename where xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx maybe something like 192.168.1.23


So... i have heared this option before and if i understand it right... you say: If i have installed my XAMPP correctly... i could share it on the same network, local on site, only by using the LAN IP and the website? (our information systems also runs on this kind of trick; SAP etc). but no one knows who has installed this :roll:
jay1234
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12. February 2016 18:30
Operating System: Windows and OSX

Re: Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby Altrea » 15. February 2016 13:16

Contacting a computer in the same network by ip adress should always work (except a firewall is preventing this).
Each name you can use in an URL will also be translated to an ip by a DNS (Domain Name System).
localhost will also be translated to an ip, an special ip 127.0.0.1. This is done by the network adapter of every single system.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8286
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby jay1234 » 18. February 2016 14:53

Altrea wrote:Contacting a computer in the same network by ip adress should always work (except a firewall is preventing this).
Each name you can use in an URL will also be translated to an ip by a DNS (Domain Name System).
localhost will also be translated to an ip, an special ip 127.0.0.1. This is done by the network adapter of every single system.


Maybe a stupid question, but finding that adress trough cmd > ipconfig > ipv4 adress

In that case: ipv4 adress/DNS = running website?

Thnx in advancee!

Edit:

i've tried it. And it works only on my local pc. It seems a firewall blocks the content. Also the content is hosted on a own closed map on the NAS... I think i need set a gate/port on listening by 8080? (server configuration) ??
jay1234
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12. February 2016 18:30
Operating System: Windows and OSX

Re: Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby Nobbie » 18. February 2016 16:33

jay1234 wrote:It seems a firewall blocks the content.


Maybe.

jay1234 wrote:Also the content is hosted on a own closed map on the NAS... I think i need set a gate/port on listening by 8080? (server configuration) ??


I dont think so. Why that und why port 8080?
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8761
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby jay1234 » 19. February 2016 14:36

Nobbie wrote:I dont think so. Why that und why port 8080?


Cause port 80 is already in use by other program.

Its seems to me the firewall is holding back, but i cant turn it of cause the it support loves me so much. I request now for a change, so i can use my firewall properly.

Nobbie wrote: und

U german? great :D
jay1234
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12. February 2016 18:30
Operating System: Windows and OSX

Re: Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby Nobbie » 19. February 2016 21:48

jay1234 wrote:Cause port 80 is already in use by other program.


Yes. But why not Port 5234 or 78 or 3596 o5 8766 or ..... there are 2^16 Ports available (up to approx. 65000).

jay1234 wrote:Its seems to me the firewall is holding back


Probably, but it will not help simply to open any other port (like 8080). It is not only the port number, it must also match to a certain application which uses the port. Anyway, i do not believe that you can solve that problem by simply open a port. I also have a feeling, that your IT lacks on TCPIP knowledge (what makes it quiet difficult to solve that issue).

jay1234 wrote:U german? great :D


Yes, i am german. This is a german board (the english board is only a sub board).
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8761
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby jay1234 » 29. February 2016 12:54

Nobbie wrote:
jay1234 wrote:Cause port 80 is already in use by other program.


Yes. But why not Port 5234 or 78 or 3596 o5 8766 or ..... there are 2^16 Ports available (up to approx. 65000).

jay1234 wrote:Its seems to me the firewall is holding back


Probably, but it will not help simply to open any other port (like 8080). It is not only the port number, it must also match to a certain application which uses the port. Anyway, i do not believe that you can solve that problem by simply open a port. I also have a feeling, that your IT lacks on TCPIP knowledge (what makes it quiet difficult to solve that issue).

jay1234 wrote:U german? great :D


Yes, i am german. This is a german board (the english board is only a sub board).


Yes, its for sure they miss alot of TCPIP knowledge, also the ''it'' guy thinks a XAMPP is a external server usage.. (and data).. Anyway, i hope u, all, can imiagine how this frustrating me...

I dont think its a big science we ask... but its just they dont want this change into the company... or something...

To be sure: if i install XAMPP on a local server and i host it from a local laptop from the company... there is no any conection outaide the company according the use of data etc? I mean a laptop is still conected, but all laptops are...

I have already hired a specialsit for this isue now, but he cant visit the site before the end of march.... On phone those guys couldnt get on one line toghether, cause the it guys on site just did not understand the it specialist.
jay1234
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12. February 2016 18:30
Operating System: Windows and OSX

Re: Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby JJ_Tagy » 29. February 2016 14:10

jay1234 wrote:To be sure: if i install XAMPP on a local server and i host it from a local laptop from the company... there is no any conection outaide the company according the use of data etc?

That's impossible for us to answer. It all depends on how your network is configured. If there is no route configured to the laptop, then that is correct. If a route is defined or open access is defined for the laptop, then you are exposed.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby jay1234 » 29. February 2016 14:26

JJ_Tagy wrote:
jay1234 wrote:To be sure: if i install XAMPP on a local server and i host it from a local laptop from the company... there is no any conection outaide the company according the use of data etc?

That's impossible for us to answer. It all depends on how your network is configured. If there is no route configured to the laptop, then that is correct. If a route is defined or open access is defined for the laptop, then you are exposed.


I understand, as far as i know... there is no route configured to the laptop, cause there is a strict policy about that here. The big point about it is.... all IT goes through america, and they give us acces for example like SAP comment etc..

Anyway. It a interesting storyline and as far as i know, and the it specialist, theres no conectivity to the outside.

We will see....
jay1234
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12. February 2016 18:30
Operating System: Windows and OSX

Re: Getting Localhost open on bussines server

Postby jay1234 » 14. March 2016 13:26

Its working! Firewall issue

Great =)
jay1234
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 12. February 2016 18:30
Operating System: Windows and OSX


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests