How do I put only a simple picture online?

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

How do I put only a simple picture online?

Postby FredF » 11. February 2016 16:26

This is what I want: when someone put www. <mydomain>.tk in the browser he sees a picture.
Only one page with a picture, nothing more.

I downloaded and installed xampp-win32-5.6.15-1-VC11-installer[1].exe
My OS is Windows 7 64bit.
I have an static IP address and a domain, <mydomain>.TK, which is related to that static IP address.
At https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2 I checked if port 80 was blocked , this was not the case.

1 I added at C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\host the following line:
<myIPaddress> <mydomain>.

2 In de file C:\xampp\apache\conf\extra\ httpd-xampp.conf I changed Require local to: #Require local

3 Then I added in httpd-vhosts.conf these lines:
<VirtualHost *:80>
DocumentRoot "C:\xampp\htdocs"
ServerName www. <mydomain>.tk
</VirtualHost>

After that I restarted the Apache.

When I give www. <mydomain>.tk in my browser, it cannot find the page.

Questions:
1. What did I wrong or what is missing.
2. Do I have to create an index.html.
3. How do I have to point to my picture?
FredF
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 10. February 2016 15:16
Operating System: windows7 64 bit

Re: How do I put only a simple picture online?

Postby Nobbie » 11. February 2016 19:20

I have an static IP address and a domain, <mydomain>.TK, which is related to that static IP address.


Please explain much more precisely what is meant by "I have an static IP address".

P.S.: It is not very helpfull to repeat ten times in a row, that you "simply" want to show one simple picture. It is not getting simple anyway. You have to connect your private PC as a server to the internet correctly in any way and that is the part what is far from "simple".
Nobbie
 
Posts: 8759
Joined: 09. March 2008 13:04

Re: How do I put only a simple picture online?

Postby JJ_Tagy » 11. February 2016 22:56

FredF wrote:1 I added at C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\host the following line:
<myIPaddress> <mydomain>.

This does absolutely nothing for the outside world.

FredF wrote:When I give www. <mydomain>.tk in my browser, it cannot find the page.

What page? Did you create one? This gets at your #2 question if that is the route you want to take.

In all, none of this is related to XAMPP or within the scope of this forum. You should research what is actually happening when you create a web server and how pages/files are served and the answers will appear themselves.
JJ_Tagy
 
Posts: 678
Joined: 30. January 2012 13:44
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests