Port 80 in use with PID 4 troubleshooting not working

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Port 80 in use with PID 4 troubleshooting not working

Postby threni » 05. January 2016 16:05

I have followed the suggestions for solving the HTTP.sys issue, down to the point where it is suggested to stop the HTTP windows service. The command window first says that that HTTP service could not be stopped. Then I tried to disable HTTP.sys completely: in the driver tab the current status says "Stopping". When I return to the command window and try to stop the service again, It says that the service is starting or stopping, please try again later.
To complicate matters, sometimes the problem resolves itself.
Is there any way out of this hell?
threni
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 22. December 2015 01:18
Operating System: win7

Re: Port 80 in use with PID 4 troubleshooting not working

Postby Altrea » 05. January 2016 16:31

threni wrote:The command window first says that that HTTP service could not be stopped.

Does it say why?
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8299
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Port 80 in use with PID 4 troubleshooting not working

Postby threni » 05. January 2016 16:35

No, it doesnt. And now Apache is starting, but my printer doesnt work.
threni
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 22. December 2015 01:18
Operating System: win7

Re: Port 80 in use with PID 4 troubleshooting not working

Postby Altrea » 05. January 2016 16:38

Because the Printer Spooler needs HTTP.sys enabled.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8299
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Port 80 in use with PID 4 troubleshooting not working

Postby threni » 05. January 2016 17:05

Well, that was my first guess, but HTTP.sys IS enabled, yet Apache is fine now. At any rate, I reconnected printer cable, alles gut.

Thanks for your help. I am reconciled to working with a system that I dont fully understand.
threni
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 22. December 2015 01:18
Operating System: win7


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 60 guests