Windows service pack 2

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

SP2 Fix

Postby potatosalad » 13. September 2004 03:15

Microsoft decided to limit the number of connections allowed and slap on a crappy firewall that blocks everything you do want. While this setup works for most "unknowing" customers, it's a pain in the butt for people trying to do things like run servers, play online games, use P2P software, or just view multiple websites while talking on AIM and MSN.

By default, the SP2 settings only allow 10 connections every 10 seconds, which sounds reasonable at first, but web servers require connections all over the place.

Anyway, the fix is available from http://www.lvllord.de/download.php?url=en/EvID4226Patch211a-en.zip, or you can read more at http://www.lvllord.de/?lang=en&url=tools.

That patch won't do anything if you still have your Windows XP Firewall on. Yana, just disable it. If you've got a router (which I think you said you did) with a built-in hardware firewall, you should be fine. I don't know what Microsoft was thinking when they designed their Firewall user interface, it's really hard to understand at first if you don't know what you're doing.
Põtåtõ §ålåÐ - Ðelicious Image
User avatar
potatosalad
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 26. April 2004 02:44
Location: Kennesaw, GA, USA

Postby Yana » 13. September 2004 09:18

Finally I have uninstalled SP 2 in home computer, but I still have it in work place. I had the windows firewall some days OFF, and one day people from intranet saw my localhost. It's great, but non-understanding (why not immediatly?). Now I wish to see my virtual domains. I'll try this patch (I hope it's not a virus :wink: )
Yana
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 10. March 2004 16:34

did you try adding those other domains?

Postby chanio » 29. September 2004 18:33

:lol:
Did you try writting your virtual domains at...
Code: Select all
C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

?
Gallactic Firewall
User avatar
chanio
 
Posts: 72
Joined: 18. March 2003 22:05
Location: Argentina

Postby dwfowler » 06. November 2004 00:00

XP Home SP2, no problem after;

adding each virtual to hosts file (see above post)
virtualhost.whatziz.org 127.0.0.1
....

Adding/Changing httpd.conf

NameVirtualHost 127.0.0.1

<VirtualHost 127.0.0.1>
ServerName virtualhost.whatziz.org
DocumentRoot pathtodocumentroot
</VirtualHost>

The <VirtualHost 127.0.0.1> remains the same for each virtual host, but the ServerName and DocumentRoot varies as needed.

I hope this helps.
dwfowler
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 22. October 2004 20:50

Previous

Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: db5023 and 29 guests