Page 1 of 1

Need assistance with config.inc.php file

PostPosted: 20. July 2015 18:15
by wendell42
I am trying to set up my phpMyAdmin to connect to a remote database on our web server.

I did some research and it said to add the server information at the bottom of the config.inc.php file and you will get a drop down in phpMyAdmin. It doesn't seem to be working...

Here is what I have in my config.inc.php file...

<?php
/*
* This is needed for cookie based authentication to encrypt password in
* cookie
*/
$cfg['blowfish_secret'] = 'xampp'; /* YOU SHOULD CHANGE THIS FOR A MORE SECURE COOKIE AUTH! */

/*
* Servers configuration
*/
$i = 0;

/*
* First server
*/
$i++;

/* Authentication type and info */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'config';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'root';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = '';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysqli';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['AllowNoPassword'] = true;
$cfg['Lang'] = '';

/* Bind to the localhost ipv4 address and tcp */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = '127.0.0.1';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'tcp';

/* User for advanced features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = '';

/* Advanced phpMyAdmin features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pmadb'] = 'phpmyadmin';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['bookmarktable'] = 'pma_bookmark';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['relation'] = 'pma_relation';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_info'] = 'pma_table_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_coords'] = 'pma_table_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pdf_pages'] = 'pma_pdf_pages';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['column_info'] = 'pma_column_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['history'] = 'pma_history';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['designer_coords'] = 'pma_designer_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['tracking'] = 'pma_tracking';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['userconfig'] = 'pma_userconfig';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['recent'] = 'pma_recent';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_uiprefs'] = 'pma_table_uiprefs';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['users'] = 'pma_users';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['usergroups'] = 'pma_usergroups';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['navigationhiding'] = 'pma_navigationhiding';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['savedsearches'] = 'pma_savedsearches';




/*
* End of servers configuration
*/

?>


$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = 'xx.xxx.xxx.xxx';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'xxxxx';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = 'xxxxxxx';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'config';


with this, I don't get the drop down to access the remote database. If I put the last four lines above the "end of servers configuration" line, phpMyAdmin wont come up. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I am running Windows 7 with the latest version of XAMPP for windows.

Thanks!

Re: Need assistance with config.inc.php file

PostPosted: 20. July 2015 19:28
by Altrea
wendell42 wrote:$i++;

This one is a very important line if you want to achieve multiple servers in phpMyAdmin.
This line needs to be duplicated in front of your second server

Re: Need assistance with config.inc.php file

PostPosted: 20. July 2015 21:59
by wendell42
That fixed it Altrea! Thanks for the help!!!!

Re: Need assistance with config.inc.php file

PostPosted: 21. July 2015 20:02
by Altrea
You are welcome 8)