Need assistance with config.inc.php file

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Need assistance with config.inc.php file

Postby wendell42 » 20. July 2015 18:15

I am trying to set up my phpMyAdmin to connect to a remote database on our web server.

I did some research and it said to add the server information at the bottom of the config.inc.php file and you will get a drop down in phpMyAdmin. It doesn't seem to be working...

Here is what I have in my config.inc.php file...

<?php
/*
* This is needed for cookie based authentication to encrypt password in
* cookie
*/
$cfg['blowfish_secret'] = 'xampp'; /* YOU SHOULD CHANGE THIS FOR A MORE SECURE COOKIE AUTH! */

/*
* Servers configuration
*/
$i = 0;

/*
* First server
*/
$i++;

/* Authentication type and info */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'config';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'root';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = '';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysqli';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['AllowNoPassword'] = true;
$cfg['Lang'] = '';

/* Bind to the localhost ipv4 address and tcp */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = '127.0.0.1';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['connect_type'] = 'tcp';

/* User for advanced features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = '';

/* Advanced phpMyAdmin features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pmadb'] = 'phpmyadmin';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['bookmarktable'] = 'pma_bookmark';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['relation'] = 'pma_relation';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_info'] = 'pma_table_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_coords'] = 'pma_table_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pdf_pages'] = 'pma_pdf_pages';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['column_info'] = 'pma_column_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['history'] = 'pma_history';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['designer_coords'] = 'pma_designer_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['tracking'] = 'pma_tracking';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['userconfig'] = 'pma_userconfig';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['recent'] = 'pma_recent';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_uiprefs'] = 'pma_table_uiprefs';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['users'] = 'pma_users';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['usergroups'] = 'pma_usergroups';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['navigationhiding'] = 'pma_navigationhiding';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['savedsearches'] = 'pma_savedsearches';




/*
* End of servers configuration
*/

?>


$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = 'xx.xxx.xxx.xxx';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'xxxxx';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = 'xxxxxxx';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'config';


with this, I don't get the drop down to access the remote database. If I put the last four lines above the "end of servers configuration" line, phpMyAdmin wont come up. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I am running Windows 7 with the latest version of XAMPP for windows.

Thanks!
wendell42
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 19. July 2015 14:15
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Need assistance with config.inc.php file

Postby Altrea » 20. July 2015 19:28

wendell42 wrote:$i++;

This one is a very important line if you want to achieve multiple servers in phpMyAdmin.
This line needs to be duplicated in front of your second server
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11926
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64

Re: Need assistance with config.inc.php file

Postby wendell42 » 20. July 2015 21:59

That fixed it Altrea! Thanks for the help!!!!
wendell42
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 19. July 2015 14:15
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Need assistance with config.inc.php file

Postby Altrea » 21. July 2015 20:02

You are welcome 8)
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 11926
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 11 Pro x64


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 113 guests