Trying to get going with XAMPP

Problems with the Windows version of XAMPP, questions, comments, and anything related.

Trying to get going with XAMPP

Postby Tigers! » 16. May 2015 14:38

I have uninstalled the Bitnami package of Joomla, restarted XAMPP, went to 127.0.0.1 and got the welocme welcome page. The status page says all is well.
Going to the phyMyadmin it shows the following screen
Image
How do I even get into PHp to add user name and password.
While I am here what do the red crosses mean?
Image
I want to create a data base so that I might install Joomla but are finding (to me at least) that XAMPP is ridiculously obtuse and hard to use. Is there any documentation that takes from turning on XAMPP to seeing that Apache works, to the mySQL to my PHPAdmin? At the moment I an floundering around not knowing where anything is nor how to get anything showing or going.
User avatar
Tigers!
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 11. May 2015 13:32
Operating System: Win8.1

Re: Trying to get going with XAMPP

Postby Altrea » 16. May 2015 15:08

Tigers! wrote:Going to the phyMyadmin it shows the following screen
Image

You have configurated phpMyAdmin to use http authentification for example with help of the xampp security script. That's why you get this login form.

Tigers! wrote:How do I even get into PHp to add user name and password.

Depends if you have set a root password as well. Maybe it is enough to reset the authentification type to config. Or you use the user root and the setted password to login in that form.

Tigers! wrote:While I am here what do the red crosses mean?
Image

That you don't have setted any windows services, which is absolutely okay.

Tigers! wrote:I want to create a data base so that I might install Joomla but are finding (to me at least) that XAMPP is ridiculously obtuse and hard to use.

Don't blame XAMPP for a change you have done yourself. XAMPP don't get shipped with phpMyAdmin http authentification by default.

Tigers! wrote:Is there any documentation that takes from turning on XAMPP to seeing that Apache works, to the mySQL to my PHPAdmin?

You already gave the roadmap. Install XAMPP, start the control panel, start Apache and MySQL with the Start buttons, open your browser with the URL http://localhost/, choose your language and hit the phpMyAdmin link in the orange XAMPP administration page. Thats simply it.
We don't provide any support via personal channels like PM, email, Skype, TeamViewer!

It's like porn for programmers 8)
User avatar
Altrea
AF Moderator
 
Posts: 8286
Joined: 17. August 2009 13:05
XAMPP version: several
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro x64

Re: Trying to get going with XAMPP

Postby Tigers! » 20. May 2015 13:56

Using the address https://127.0.0.1/xampp/ I get the following message.
Image
From this screen how do I access MYSQL to create a database prior to installing Joomla? Or perhaps I must get to SQL another way? But I do not know as I can not find any useful documentation.
Going to the documentation link I get a page that has others links but none of them work.

I still have the phpAdmin authentication message despite not doing anything with phpAdmin. I have never been able to get in. I have no idea how to get into phpadmin.
User avatar
Tigers!
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 11. May 2015 13:32
Operating System: Win8.1

Re: Trying to get going with XAMPP

Postby mark.mcdonald » 20. May 2015 14:33

Under Tools on the left hand side of the screen, click on phpMyAdmin, this is a GUI for the MySQL database. This is where you can create a new database with specific user permissions for your Joomla install.
or go to: http://localhost/phpmyadmin
mark.mcdonald
 
Posts: 160
Joined: 13. March 2015 15:48
Location: Edmonton
Operating System: Windows Server 2012 R2


Return to XAMPP for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 59 guests